Smothered Hamburger Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This actually came out good!...very easy to make! I didnt have beef base so i used onion mix and it was great! I will make again thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
this did not work too well for us. Maybe we had our expectations too high though. The meat was very balnd and had no real flavor. I even added some extra garlic and onion powder when mixing it up. The gravy was ok at best and very disappointing since we usually love gravy and cream sauces. I think I will be looking for a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
On the whim I searched for smothered HS and found this recipe!! I was tired of the humdrum of spaghetti and hamburger helper (dont hold it against me I havent made that in MONTHS). I made this this past Wed and the kids loved it, I JUST made it again tonight. I left a few out of the gravy and the kids made their own hamburgers with them...lol. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trying2BWifey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Hubby loved it! I will be making this again real soon! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
fam really liked this, very easy i did have to change it a bit though instead of the beef base and onion i used a package of onion soup mix i should have only used half a package even though it was way to strong tasting the fam still liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessicathiele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I made this tonight for dinner but I wouild use nxt time 2 cans of mushroom soup nxt time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTRJsMAMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was really easy to make and had a great taste after reading some of the reviews and making my own tweaks. I used 1/2 envelope of lipton onion soup mix in place of beef base and minced onion. I only made 3 nice size steaks with about a pound of meat, since there is only 3 of us. I also used 1 egg, 2 slices of bread and milk in place of water. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Columbia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I couldn't give 5 stars because I used 1 pkg Beefy Onion Lipton soup mix instead of beef base and reduced fat soup. I think I will add a few extra ingredients to the gravy next time so it won't have as much of a "cream soup" taste. This is nit-picking a bit, I still consider this a good recipe as is. Fast, easy, and pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Always a wiinner in my kitchen! 8, 11 & 16 yr old girls and myself enjoy this dish. Made exactly as listed. (Mom's on a diet:) Okay I lied, I used wheat bread instead of white...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JmL
Living In: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Excellent dish. One of my wifes favorites. I do not use the bread, and do not completely cook the hamburger before smothering in gravy. Has turned into a weekly dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States