Smothered Hamburger Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
When I've made this in the past I followed the directions, but tonight when I made it I added some garlic and onion to the cream of mushroom and Worcestershire mixture and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Great recipe, thanks. There's only my wife and me and our two Chessies but I made the full recipie anyway. I have a killer cold and it still tasted good. My wife put it in the "keeper" file. Had it with home fried potatoes with Old Bay seasoning. WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castorland, New York, USA
Living In: Glenfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This actually came out good!...very easy to make! I didnt have beef base so i used onion mix and it was great! I will make again thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
this did not work too well for us. Maybe we had our expectations too high though. The meat was very balnd and had no real flavor. I even added some extra garlic and onion powder when mixing it up. The gravy was ok at best and very disappointing since we usually love gravy and cream sauces. I think I will be looking for a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
On the whim I searched for smothered HS and found this recipe!! I was tired of the humdrum of spaghetti and hamburger helper (dont hold it against me I havent made that in MONTHS). I made this this past Wed and the kids loved it, I JUST made it again tonight. I left a few out of the gravy and the kids made their own hamburgers with them...lol. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trying2BWifey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Hubby loved it! I will be making this again real soon! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
fam really liked this, very easy i did have to change it a bit though instead of the beef base and onion i used a package of onion soup mix i should have only used half a package even though it was way to strong tasting the fam still liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessicathiele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I made this tonight for dinner but I wouild use nxt time 2 cans of mushroom soup nxt time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTRJsMAMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was really easy to make and had a great taste after reading some of the reviews and making my own tweaks. I used 1/2 envelope of lipton onion soup mix in place of beef base and minced onion. I only made 3 nice size steaks with about a pound of meat, since there is only 3 of us. I also used 1 egg, 2 slices of bread and milk in place of water. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Columbia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I couldn't give 5 stars because I used 1 pkg Beefy Onion Lipton soup mix instead of beef base and reduced fat soup. I think I will add a few extra ingredients to the gravy next time so it won't have as much of a "cream soup" taste. This is nit-picking a bit, I still consider this a good recipe as is. Fast, easy, and pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States