Smothered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
These are really good and easy! I cooked the bacon in a separate pan and I used about 1 TB. of grease in the other pot. I added the garlic and when it was hot and then dumped in the green beans and water. It took a good 20 min. for the water to evaporate. I also didn't add any onion and left the bacon out until they were all done. I wanted my bacon to be crispy. I will definantly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I'm a Southern gal, so the bacon in the green beans wasn't new. However, Mom never fixed them like this! I did drain out most of the rendered fat, and I used the baby whole green beans, but stayed true to the recipe after that. Everyone loved them, and hubby went back for thirds! I will make these again, but will probably reserve them for special occasions. Gotta watch those fat grams....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I'm not fond of green beans but these were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Simply, quick, tasty and kid-friendly. The bacon looks watery though in the end, not like those in the picture. Perhaps the recipe omitted statin the bacon had to be withdrawn and re-added after beans are tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mirtus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Try it with fresh asparagus. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
These are amazing with and without the bacon!! Less calories without the bacon..but VERY YUMMY!! An excellent summer and light side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
We have a version of this recipe every thanksgiving. We call them heart attack green beans. The only difference is we use a large can of Italian green beans (or just regular cut green beans if we can't find the italian) instead of the fresh green beans and skip the addition of the water altogeher. So we brown the bacon, onion and garlic, add the drained green beans, stir to coat and cook just until heated through. We only eat this at the holidays because of the fat content, but EVERYONE loves them and requests them wherever we go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Excellent, we will make this often. Loved having a new way to fix fresh green beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Norris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
These were fantastic. The beans retained their color, but they were premium priced beans so that may have had something to do with it. I would assume just better or more preservatives lol. Once the water cooked down I just let the dish fry a little bit and had a nice mix of crispy and tender bacon as well as giving a better texture to the onions. As the recipe is I think it is a solid 5 star. Reducing it to only 2 slices of bacon reduced the presence of the bacon in the flavor, and probably made it somewhat healthier. Even as is it isn't really unhealthy if it's paired with sensible dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Of course it's good - it has bacon in it. :) Tasty, though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States