Smothered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
These turned out fabulous. I used frozen thin green beans and 1 T. dried minced onion. I used precooked bacon and left it in slices as I don't eat the bacon and it was easier to just get green beans for my serving in doing that. Don't worry, my hubs was more than happy to put the bacon on his plate. I found some chicken broth opened in the fridge so I replaced half the water for that. Taste these before you salt them as the bacon added quite a bit and I don't think the additional salt was necessary. This was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Very good. Will definitely make again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I have long been intimidated by fresh green beans and always used canned. I decided to branch out with this recipe. I did not have bacon, so I just used the onion and garlic. It was delicious. I know the bacon would have made it taste even better. I would, however, take the bacon out after I cook it so as not to make the green beans greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I wouldn't have imagined this combination would be so good. I did follow others suggestions and only partially covered the green beans while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leadfoot13us

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
The bacon adds great flavor to the green beans - no added salt needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennysslife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
These are really good and easy! I cooked the bacon in a separate pan and I used about 1 TB. of grease in the other pot. I added the garlic and when it was hot and then dumped in the green beans and water. It took a good 20 min. for the water to evaporate. I also didn't add any onion and left the bacon out until they were all done. I wanted my bacon to be crispy. I will definantly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I'm a Southern gal, so the bacon in the green beans wasn't new. However, Mom never fixed them like this! I did drain out most of the rendered fat, and I used the baby whole green beans, but stayed true to the recipe after that. Everyone loved them, and hubby went back for thirds! I will make these again, but will probably reserve them for special occasions. Gotta watch those fat grams....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I'm not fond of green beans but these were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Simply, quick, tasty and kid-friendly. The bacon looks watery though in the end, not like those in the picture. Perhaps the recipe omitted statin the bacon had to be withdrawn and re-added after beans are tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mirtus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Try it with fresh asparagus. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States