Smothered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Great recipe! I did follow the advice of one reviewer and steamed the green beans first and than added all the yummy stuff and it turned out perfectly... not to crunchy and not too soft! I did have to soak up some of the grease with a paper towel, though. I also toasted some blanched almonds (about 1/2 cup) and added them, too. It was a delicious recipe and I will definitely make this again! Thanks!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Winchester, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Yep - this is pretty much how I make my green beans, though I like to chop my onion into larger pieces, and I often forget to add garlic. I also cook my bacon a bit longer and drain most of the bacon grease out before I add the beans and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Helen, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
These are delicious. I seasoned them with garlic powder, parsley as well as salt and pepper. I use this recipe every time I make string beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
These were great. The only thing I would suggest is not to mince the onion just chop it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
YUM! This was great. I like others, cooked my bacon and onion, removed it and tossed at the very end. I also substituted broth for the water. I plan on making this for thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
For those who want that sweetness, add a little bit of brown sugar, it's so good with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
It's a great way to serve green beans. We loved it! I used frozen whole green beans, and will be removing/returning bacon like others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Good, but next time I'll cook the green beans separately, then add to the bacon/onion/garlic as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This is the most awesome way to cook green beans!! I use frozen italian flat green beans- works exactly the same- Yum-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I used 3 thick slices of bacon and these turned out great. My new favorite way to eat green beaners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 101-110 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States