Smothered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I removed some of the grease as well, cooked the onions, and then set aside. I ended up cleaning out the pan, putting in the water, garlic powder, and cooked onions. I threw in my fresh green beans, covered them, and let them cook. When I could start smelling them, then I added the bacon and continued to cover it. Finally, I added more garlic powder to bring out that flavor more. VERY good! I may be getting fresh green beans from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Catonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Easy to do and very good. I forgot to dice my bacon before cooking so I just took out the bacon and chopped it with cooking shears. I also added mushrooms since we love them. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CForest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverbank, California, USA
Living In: Ceres, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I love green beans and this recipe is so tasty. I used regular sliced bacon, cooked until crispy and removed bacon from the skillet. Stirred onion and tons of fresh minced garlic to the fat. Lastly, I added the green beans and water. Topped it off with the crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
good flavor, but prefere ham over bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aWe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I've had better with less fat. Not sure the water is needed either. I think it might have made it more bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Made this for Thanksgiving. The turkey took longer than I thought, so my husband and I had our own "progressive" dinner. Ate these first. Finished off the whole thing!! Most amazing thing ever!!! Easy recipe to remember if I want to make it at someone else's house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I have had green beans with onion and bacon before, but my husband never has and thought this was a great and different way to make green beans. I made this recipe as is and would not change one single thing! This recipe is now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Was not a very big fan of green beans until i had these! AMAZING & so full of flavor! You can smell them as soon as you walk in the door. I could eat all of them by myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Made this tonight to go along with my Christmas Eve dinner. What a HUGE hit it was. Everyone absolutely loved it. Didn't change a thing in the recipe (which is slightly unusual for me) and it was just perfect. Will be making this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by araynady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I cut down the green beans (about 1-2") and boiled them in a separate pot then added them to the skillet the bacon cooked in. I also drained most of the bacon grease before adding the garlic, beans, and salt and pepper to taste (I ommitted the onions so the children would eat them). Finally I allowed everything to simmer for just a few minutes so the flavors could blend. They were a really nice alternative to the greenbean casserole on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Neodesha, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States