Smothered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe I am now making my second batch of green beans your way.....These are the best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Rave reviews from all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Even though it is not the healthiest preparation of a vegetable, it sure is delicious! And fairly easy to do. The hardest part is breaking the ends off the green beans, should you choose to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Loved these green beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This was delicious! Similar to green beans I've had at southern restaurants. I did cut the bacon to 4 slices because I just couldn't bring myself to use 6 and there was still enough bacon for every serving to have some in it. Next time I will use 3, just being health conscious. I used a bag of frozen petite string beans. My kids don't like veggies and ate these without complaining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This was a fast and flavorful recipe to an otherwise dull vegetable, which paired well with grilled Tilapia. The bacon, garlic and onion gave it the needed punch to compliment the beans. In turn, received compliments from the kiddos who prior had professed they would never eat green beans. Hats off to the cook who shared this recipe. It.'s definitely going into the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hapazap

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Was my fav German recipe so far
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
A good, mild tasting recipe! I did feel that it needed something extra, thus I added a teaspoon of light brown sugar, which brought out the flavor of the bacon more. I would also suggest letting the bacon cook to a light crispiness before adding the green beans, mine came out too wet and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
The family said it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma3CSB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I cut up the bacon and tossed it while it was cooking. I also put it on High for about 3.5 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States