Smothered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
As I always have with other vegetables as well, I frequently cook green beans with bacon and garlic. It was the addition of onion and the cooking method itself, that caught my eye. I always saute the bacon and garlic, then add the COOKED green beans to the pan and toss to coat. With this recipes's method, the green beans lose their vibrant color, the bacon gets limp, and the dish looks "muddied" overall. I'll stick to my method, where both the beans and the bacon retain their rich color and where the bacon flavor enhances, rather than overwhelms, the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Nice change from the traditional green bean casserole for the Holidays. Used a packaged thick sliced bacon and frozen whole petite green beans. Cooked the bacon whole first until it was crisp then removed from pan. As per other reviews only retained about 1 tablespoon of the grease. When I added the beans and the water I put a lid on the pan but left it cracked which allowed the beans that were not in the water to steam, while allowing the water to evaporate. When the beans were cooked and the water was pretty much gone, I returned the crisp bacon which I had chopped to the pan and tossed, put the lid on tightly and just let it sit for about two hours. I didn't want the beans to get mushy, but did want the bacon to soften up a bit. Right before serving I just heated it up. Everybody loved it - will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This turned out yummy, although the onion and garlic flavor was overshadowed by the bacon. It was also a tad greasy so I felt like it wasn't as healthy as green beans should be. Next time I think I will cook the bacon completely in the pan first, then set aside to drain on paper towels. I will pour out all but a tablespoon or two of grease, and then cook the beans, onion and garlic in those drippings with the water. Hopefully that will allow some of the other flavors to come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
This is a GREAT tasting recipe! Reminded me of green beans from when I was a kid. I just cut up the bacon with kitchen shears, it's a lot easier than using a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
Great side dish, though I wouldn't recommend covering the skillet while cooking - the bacon and onions got a little watery. I added toasted almonds which added to its great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
I was hoping that the little black cloud from friday would clear out, and I FINALLY did something right...made a successful meal, which included these beans. YUM. I used red onion (my favorite) and instead of water, I used beef broth.. we all liked this one, thanks Michele ;) Now that I am home bound...CHEERS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I thought this was a good recipe although I like to add my previously cooked bacon at the end so it's not soft. I always read other reviews for suggestions. thanks Michelle for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob & Kara's Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Really tasty way to eat green beans. Everyone enjoyed them, except for my green bean hating 8 year old, but she was the exception! Followed the advice of removing the bacon grease (left just enough to barely cover the pan), cooked the onions and garlic and added chicken broth instead of water. When green beans were just about finished, I added back in the cooked bacon pieces to warm them back up. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
When I saw this recipe I realized that it was very similar to what my mom used to make when we were kids. I had to call her and ask if she sweetened it at all as I remembered just a hint of sweetness. Apparently she did and I added a touch of karo syrup. I'm not big on sweets period, but this brought back comforting memories. It was a nice vegie addition to our party yesterday, that the GALS gobbled up while the guys concentrated on the meat. Excellent Michele and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
i cooked the bacon, onions and garlic together while i boiled the beans quickly in a little chicken broth with a slice of bacon for added cooking flavor and then added fresh sliced mushrooms to the mix to saute i blanched the beans --plunge in cold water --to keep their color and crispness--then added them to the fry pan mix and heated together--since i like to make things ahead i put it aside and later put it in the oven to heat up at dinner time (would have used the micro if the oven hadn't been on already-- very good blend of flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States