Smothered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This is sooo good! I made this last night and there are not any left overs! I did use frozen green beans as the fresh did not look good in the store and I fried bacon first and used about 2 tbs. of the baking grease and followed the rest of the recipe. This will be a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I had some cans of green beans I needed to use up so I used two cans instead of fresh cut beans. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Good, not great. I did pour out all but a little grease and set the bacon aside to the end, as suggested. I also added almonds at the end as well. It still wasn't everything I hoped for, but I'll make it again and see if I can improve on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I LOVE this recipe and so did my family. Very YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This smelled amazing cooking! I halfed the amount of bacon and added extra garlic. They are a little greasy but that's southern style green beans ya'll. I will try other suggestions next time and drain the grease. For health's sake. Can't beat fresh green beans and their cheap. Just make sure you cook em 3 or 4 days after you buy em
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hampton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Loved these! I didn't change a thing, except I added some sugar while they were cooking. Just a sprinkle! Yummy! They did take longer than 30 minutes, for me, and I had to add more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I make this a lot in the summer time. We add diced up new potatoes to ours too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lnicker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
With bacon...,hmmm..., it's great. But when I cook the green beans, I always fry them with mashed meat. It's Chinese style and also very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Awesome! Added a little more bacon, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jncarter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made this awhile back but forgot to rate or make notes to it but I do agree with naples34102 on the first page regarding the cooking method. I should have read it before hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States