Smothered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Thought it turned out good. I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Just like my favorite BBQ restaurant! My son will eat these All week long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jomama2010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Simple goodness. I used frozen green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Good & Tasty. Boil or Steam the beans to half way cooked to your liking. The first time around i used fresh green beans and let boil for about 5 minutes and it burnt my garlic and the beans were still not cooked. Next time i will steam my beans then add to the mixture and will add the garlic at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
try it you will like it! i added more salt, some shallots we had lying about, and a 1/4 cup of chardonnay with the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Made this on Thanksgiving day and it became a family favorite. Used shallots instead of onion and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I looooove this recipe. I hated green beans with a passion. But this recipe is so good that I actually love green beans now. Plus my mother still makes the green bean casserole, but with this out there no one eats it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is very tastey & easy to make! When I'm short on time I brown chopped canadian bacon w/onions and add a bag of microwave steamed green beans. Toss to coat & it's ready to serve! My husband & my 4 year old love these green beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Sounds good....I am making this right now for my family but I'm using canned green beans, I hope it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
You can never go wrong with bacon as it always flavor any dish wonderfully. I took a slight detour and blanched the beans in hot water for 1 minute and then set it aside until the bacon, onions and garlic were done cooking. My main concern was losing the green beans bright green color. I removed the bacon, onion and garlic to the side of the pan and added the green beans. I sautéed the green beans in the bacon grease seasoning with Hawaiian sea salt and fresh ground black pepper. The green beans kept their flavor and color. The overall dish was tasty and like I said, you really cannot go wrong with bacon with its crisp salty pork flavor enhancing any dish. This was served with, "Mushroom Stuffed Chicken Rollups," and "Sun-Dried Tomato and Basil Orzo," also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States