Smothered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
No Leftovers at the Dinner Table!! My husband is a VERY picky eater and he finished this. He loved it. I did crisp the bacon then take it out and crumble it on top right before serving and cut down the sauce. I only cooked the green beans for about 25minutes, we still like them a little tender but with some crunch. Thank you for this. My husband asked me to make Green Beans like this all the time now. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mberube
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Good stuff I just used turkey ham instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWRDPRINCESS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
These were fantastic, very easy to make and they tasted great. Didn't change a thing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Wow, fantastic! I will with out a doubt make this again. I used turkey bacon instead. It was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Excellent. I did cook the onions and garlic a little longer before adding the beans, about 3 minutes and I added an extra 1/4 cup of water, because my husband likes his green beans really tender. By a happy accident I'd picked up smoked bacon which went really well with this. I served this with roast chicken and everyone not only cleared their plates but went back for seconds. Thanks Michele.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
OMG these were awesome. I did do some things differently after reading the reviews. I first started by cooking the beans in beef stock instead of water, while they cooked I cooked the bacon then added the onions and garlic after a few minutes so that it gave the bacon time to render its fat. Once the beans were cooked I drained them and sprinkled some herb and garlic seasoning on them, when the bacon and onions were cooked I added the beans to the fry pan and mixed it all together. This was the first thing that disappeared from the table, I even went back for seconds. thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Turned out very well..got many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was really, really good. I used canned green beans instead of fresh, but it still tasted fantastic. I couldn't keep my husband away from it while it was cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
fried bacon until crisp, then removed to paper towel. sauteed onion & garlic until tender, added remaining ingredients per recipe instructions. topped with crisp bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States