Smothered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This has become my anti-veggie husband's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I made a few changes to this- I cooked the bacon and drained some of the grease, added the onion and garlic as well as sliced mushrooms. Meanwhile I steamed the grean beans and then added them to the bacon mix. This worked well so it wasn't too greasy and the bacon flavor wasn't overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I was surprised at how much I liked this. I thought it would be bland but it had a lot of flavor. I made this exactly as written and won't change a thing next time I make it. There IS a lot of bacon, but that's what makes it taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
My family LOVED this! Thumbs up for this one! THX for a great recipe! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Blossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
5 stars for the taste and ease of prep! My family loves these beans--and I know, I know. . .bacon fat. But all things in moderation. :o) Thanks for this recipe--we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Wonderful! I subbed in chicken broth and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
My children loved green beans this way. It has been added as a regular side dish at my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Pope
Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
These were a hit at Thanksgiving dinner! Everyone loved them! I did steam my beans first, skipped the water part and just tossed everything together. Very, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I drained most of the bacon fat except for 1-2 Tsp. I cooked my beans seperatly and then added it to the drained cooked bacon, garlic, onion, tossed to coat and it was very good. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Very good recipe, I'm not a huge green bean fan but I really liked these. I even got my children to eat some. Its a keeper. The only slight change I made I added fresh mushrooms with the onions, just because I had them and had to do something with them. They didn't change the taste of the beans, I don't believe and they tasted really good. I can't think of anything that wouldn't be good saute in bacon fat, onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States