Smothered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Wow, fantastic! I will with out a doubt make this again. I used turkey bacon instead. It was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Excellent. I did cook the onions and garlic a little longer before adding the beans, about 3 minutes and I added an extra 1/4 cup of water, because my husband likes his green beans really tender. By a happy accident I'd picked up smoked bacon which went really well with this. I served this with roast chicken and everyone not only cleared their plates but went back for seconds. Thanks Michele.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
OMG these were awesome. I did do some things differently after reading the reviews. I first started by cooking the beans in beef stock instead of water, while they cooked I cooked the bacon then added the onions and garlic after a few minutes so that it gave the bacon time to render its fat. Once the beans were cooked I drained them and sprinkled some herb and garlic seasoning on them, when the bacon and onions were cooked I added the beans to the fry pan and mixed it all together. This was the first thing that disappeared from the table, I even went back for seconds. thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Turned out very well..got many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was really, really good. I used canned green beans instead of fresh, but it still tasted fantastic. I couldn't keep my husband away from it while it was cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
fried bacon until crisp, then removed to paper towel. sauteed onion & garlic until tender, added remaining ingredients per recipe instructions. topped with crisp bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Excellent recipe! The only change I made was that I used beef broth instead of water as others had mentioned. This got rave reviews at my party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowWhite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This dish was really yummy. I served it as a side for my x-mas dinner and my entire family LOVED it. There was nothing left at the end of dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Cooked Bacon first, and set aside, then sauted fresh green beans, mixed together with bacon and garlic for last few mins of cooking.... came out great! I'VE FINALLY FOUND A WAY TO GET MY PICKY HUSBAND TO EAT SOMETHING GREEN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bainbridge, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States