Smothered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
i cooked the bacon, onions and garlic together while i boiled the beans quickly in a little chicken broth with a slice of bacon for added cooking flavor and then added fresh sliced mushrooms to the mix to saute i blanched the beans --plunge in cold water --to keep their color and crispness--then added them to the fry pan mix and heated together--since i like to make things ahead i put it aside and later put it in the oven to heat up at dinner time (would have used the micro if the oven hadn't been on already-- very good blend of flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Fabulously yummy! I did have to add a little more water to make them to my liking, loved the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NSUNRISE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I removed some of the grease as well, cooked the onions, and then set aside. I ended up cleaning out the pan, putting in the water, garlic powder, and cooked onions. I threw in my fresh green beans, covered them, and let them cook. When I could start smelling them, then I added the bacon and continued to cover it. Finally, I added more garlic powder to bring out that flavor more. VERY good! I may be getting fresh green beans from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Catonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Easy to do and very good. I forgot to dice my bacon before cooking so I just took out the bacon and chopped it with cooking shears. I also added mushrooms since we love them. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CForest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverbank, California, USA
Living In: Ceres, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I love green beans and this recipe is so tasty. I used regular sliced bacon, cooked until crispy and removed bacon from the skillet. Stirred onion and tons of fresh minced garlic to the fat. Lastly, I added the green beans and water. Topped it off with the crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
good flavor, but prefere ham over bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aWe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I've had better with less fat. Not sure the water is needed either. I think it might have made it more bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Made this for Thanksgiving. The turkey took longer than I thought, so my husband and I had our own "progressive" dinner. Ate these first. Finished off the whole thing!! Most amazing thing ever!!! Easy recipe to remember if I want to make it at someone else's house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I have had green beans with onion and bacon before, but my husband never has and thought this was a great and different way to make green beans. I made this recipe as is and would not change one single thing! This recipe is now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Was not a very big fan of green beans until i had these! AMAZING & so full of flavor! You can smell them as soon as you walk in the door. I could eat all of them by myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States