Smothered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
These were great. I only used half the bacon, but otherwise made as written. One of the best ways I've made green beans so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
What a nice change from boring green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I'm from the south so naturally bacon is a staple for most meals....I found this dish to have the flavor with out being so obviously full of bacon grease...also, on a side note, I did have to cook for a slightly longer amount of time - I'm sure that was just a texture preference....will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Awesome! I didn't add any water for cooking, i prepared a separate pot with boiling water and let the green beans cook for 2 minutes then transfered them to the pan with the bacon. They turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Clunis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
this was good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
The green beans where a hit for the fam. I would just change one thing next time I will only use half the bacon 6 slices is to much for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trina
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Only one thing to say: mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
i cooked the bacon, onions and garlic together while i boiled the beans quickly in a little chicken broth with a slice of bacon for added cooking flavor and then added fresh sliced mushrooms to the mix to saute i blanched the beans --plunge in cold water --to keep their color and crispness--then added them to the fry pan mix and heated together--since i like to make things ahead i put it aside and later put it in the oven to heat up at dinner time (would have used the micro if the oven hadn't been on already-- very good blend of flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Fabulously yummy! I did have to add a little more water to make them to my liking, loved the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NSUNRISE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I removed some of the grease as well, cooked the onions, and then set aside. I ended up cleaning out the pan, putting in the water, garlic powder, and cooked onions. I threw in my fresh green beans, covered them, and let them cook. When I could start smelling them, then I added the bacon and continued to cover it. Finally, I added more garlic powder to bring out that flavor more. VERY good! I may be getting fresh green beans from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Catonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States