Smothered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Four and a half stars but not quite five. Pretty simple concept. Good way to dress up green beans so the kids will eat them. I pre cooked both the bacon and beans separately then threw them together to prevent the dish from being to watery or greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
The only recipe change I made was to use chicken stock instead of water. Perfectly delicious. Really, what isn't, if it has bacon in it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Have used this recipe for years, but I traditionally drain the bacon grease before cooking the garlic and onion as I have found that it tends to overpower the other flavors found in this recipe and add the bacon back prior to serving. Chicken broth vs water also gives a better flavor to the finished dish. Easy to modify to your own family's taste buds, ie., add mushrooms, toasted almonds, even gorgonzola cheese. Thanks Michele for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This was great! I drained most of the bacon fat away before taking the next step to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Outstanding, very flavor deep! I started to put the beans in a steamer and decided to just follow the dang recipe, and i'm so glad I did! Excellent mouth feel and taste for days, I will be having this many many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ziggymackenzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Fort, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I like the method of cooking where the liquid is boiled away instead of poured off, which keeps you from losing a lot of the nutrients from the beans. I would probably drain off a little bit of the fat next time, but love this recipe anyway. I doubled the recipe and used a whole pack of thick sliced bacon. I also used a can (2 cups) of chicken broth instead of water. I am usually not a fan of green beans at all, but I can't stop eating them! Will definitely cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I love this recipe, the only thing I change is that I add a heaping tablespoon of minced garlic to the sauce because we love garlic. my family begs me to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angie
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
So i tweeked this a bit instead of water I used bacon dripping I also added baby bello mushrooms also added a tablespoon of Rosemary and garlic powder as well as fresh minced garlic and 1/4 cup chicken broth all together this recipe was very yummy loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I added a little Cajun seasoning after cooking because we both enjoy a kick with our food, but I followed the rest of the recipe as is. It turned out extremely well and I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I made it as a side dish for dinner...delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States