Smothered Green Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Tried this recipe out for a pre-Thanksgiving recipe testing dinner. None of us were crazy about them. I prefer canned green beans, but wanted to give fresh a try. I didn't get that "green" flavor that I dislike about fresh beans at least. But I didn't really care for the sweetness of this dish. Everyone else voted to keep the Campbell's green bean casserole for The Day... I'll keep searching for another green bean dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Very good....I replaced the water with 1 cup chicken broth (for extra flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This was a big hit. And the two cups of water was too much even when I almost doubled the recipe, so a cup should suffice for normal serving size. I'm going to try it next with a bit of finely chopped red bell pepper added for the last few minutes of simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I made this for New Year's Day for friends & it was a huge success. Very easy & such an unexpected combination of flavors. Will definitely make this a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Yummy!! We loved these my 18 month old even ate them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
These were okay but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I made this tonight as a sidedish for a tuna casserole. My family loved it so much they went back for seconds. Because of the other reviews, I made a few adjustments. I used only one cup water, 1/4 of a lrg onion and 1/4 cup brown sugar and wor. sauce each. It still came out too sweet in the end I put lots of salt and pepper to taste and it came out perfect. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
I don't have a large skillet, so I removed the bacon and then added in step two, with the water. This recipe just made my week! We had it over rice, and then I snuck some more before going to bed. I am going downstairs to finish it shortly. Oh and I didn't let all of the water evaporate so I could use the sauce on the rice--very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I made a few changes which made my family rave! Many mentioned that they thought it was bland and too soft, and I think that is because some of us like green beans more crisp tender. If you use only 1 cup water, only 3T. brown sugar, and 1/4 c. worcestershire sauce, it only takes 20- 30 minutes on medium heat (and partially covered) for the sauce to cook down. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Excellent with minor adjustments. I would decrease the bacon to 1/2 lb unless you like bacon a lot. I decreased the Worcestershire and brown sugar to 1/4 cup each and it was still plenty sweet. If you don't like sweet then decrease the sugar further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEKAE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States