Smothered Green Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Its tasty but too sweet and tasted too much like W. sauce. Will stick with "Smothered Green Beans" recipe off AR or decrease the sugar and W. sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I have made this dish so many times I could now do it with my eyes closed. My family and freinds love it. In an attempt to save money I use canned green beans (drained) and just let everything simmer until most of the liquid is evaporated. It is just as good as using fresh green beans and a heck of a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I am a big fan of this recipe! Make it all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Loved this combination. Tastes great and smells so good while cooking. I didn't have enough bacon on hand so needed to add a little bacon grease to saute the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULDI

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Summit Point, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
The bacon came out pretty gross and the green beans were cooked in so much bacon grease. Next time I make this I will cook the bacon first and crispy. That's how we like it. I will save some drippings to cook the green beans in and then sprinkle the bacon on top once the green beans are done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIANNA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
These were o.k. I don't think I would make these again and nobody else liked the either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was delicious and easy to make. It was a great side dish to add to a great meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Desert_Rain
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was a really good change from your average green bean dishes. The first time I made it using the brown sugar and it was perfect. Then I realized that by omitting the sugar and cutting down on the Worcestershire sauce, this could be a very tasty low-carb dish. So that's how I make it now for my self. If I were to make it for anyone else or bring it to a potluck I would definitely bring the sugar back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Loved it!! Was really deliciouis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This was a very tasty side dish, easy to make and the leftovers were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States