Smothered Filet Mignon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Katie Igoe
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
My boyfriend and I loved this recipe! It was fast and easy, we used goat cheese which was good but next time we are going to try the blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Igoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was amazing - made it last night and both me and my boyfriend loved it! A definite keeper and my new favorite way of preparing tenderloin filets. I made it exactly as written with one exception; I cooked the filets in a cast iron skillet instead of on the grill (with temps of -10 it's a bit too cold to be doing anything on the grill right now). Absolutely delicious. We tried it with and without the blue cheese - great both ways. Thank you to JDVMD for sharing the recipe. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarence, New York, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Sauce needed my zip so I added some rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I am not a steak eater, but once a year will eat a filet. This was our first attempt at grilling them at home. My husband did a great job with the grilling of the steaks. The instruction/heat time was perfect for a medium-rare steak. The flavor was outstanding, and the bleu cheese was a perfect topping. Served these with 'Grilled Rock Lobster Tails', 'Grilled Sweet Onion' both from AR and grilled Parmesan green beans. Definitely a 5-star meal tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I didn't have Rosemary or Blue Cheese and somehow managed to forget the sugar and onions (duh), but it still was absolutely FANTASTIC!!! This will be the only way I cook a filet from now on. Oh, I also didn't have Dijon, so I just used another spicy mustard I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKANANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Elkview, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Delicious favors!! Definitely a keeper!; My husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Let me start by saying I don't really care for steak, so covering it in cheese and other goodness was sort of a brilliant idea to me. I couldn't find filet mignon at our commissary anywhere so I went with 4 strip steaks and they worked fine. Everyone really loved this. Except me. I mean the toppings were tasty and all but the steak still tasted just like... well, steak. I didn't think the marinade did much for it. On the upside, I left two of the steaks in the marinade overnight and cooked them today, sliced thin and had steak salad for lunch. That was superb. I might make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
What a wonderful balance, I didn't Have Dijon, rather a Spicy Brown Mustard, nor did I have blue cheese, so I just smothered the filet in the caramelized onions. The dish turned out perfect. I had a nice bottle of Affentaler Valley of the Monkey Baden Pinot Nior to match the meal. Thanks for the excellent posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Ditt
Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Excellent! So easy to make and very flavorful. The balsamic marinade is excellent. I used dijon and will again. I also used sweet onions and omitted the sugar, there is no need for it. My husband loved it. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This recipe is great when you cannot afford a fillet mignon this will also work well with a london broil and chicken breast if you want to change it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States