Smothered Filet Mignon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
This is my recipe and it was changed by Allrecipes after submission. You need to use course ground dijon mustard. I have never tried regular dijon so I don't know how well that would go. Also, just heat up the grill, don't worry about one side being high and the other medium. I never submitted that. This is one of those recipes that you can just eyeball how much blue cheese and onions you want on each filet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
296 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I rarely cook, but when I do I go out to make a great impression. I decided to use this recipe as a "makeup" dinner after an argument with my long-term girlfriend. Was it a hit? It was a home run, touch down, goal and swoosh all in one. I have often spent well over $100.00 for meals that couldn't touch this one with a ten foot pole. Five stars is not enough!!! I served this with green beans with onions, mushrooms and a light cream sauce and a fully loaded baked potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
I made this for valentines day dinner for my husband, and we both agreed, this was the BEST steak I have ever fixed!! The marinade was really flavorful! Like some of the others, I used goat cheese instead of blue cheese and it was supberb!! I actually made this on my cast iron indoor grill and put it in my oven broiler to melt the cheese and it turned out great. I will definately be making this again and would highly recommend this to anyone to try.. It was extremely easy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Yum!!! Cooks up great in a pan on the stove as well. Cooked the steak until nearly done, then added the onions into the same skillet to caramelize. Heaped them on top of the steak along with the cheese just long enough for the cheese to melt, and it turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This is the first review I have ever put on this site, and I had to because this was sooooo good!!! These were the best steaks that we have ever eaten. My husband raved as well. I followed the recipe exactly except for used mozzerella cheese instead of blue cheese (what I had on hand.) We will definetly make these again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This is the Best Recipe ever!! My mom found this recipe on this board in the summer and we both have made it for all the dinner parties we have had in the past 4 months. Everyone loves it; even the people that don't care for blue cheese (try using a milder blue cheese for those people). Also we have used various cuts of steak - you don't have to use the expensive cut of filet mignon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GIANNA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
The balsmic marinade is so good. Through the whole dinner we kept going mmmm.... mmmm.... We don't like blue cheese so I used mozzerella instead.I can't wait to make it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIANNA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
This was an excellent recipe. I'm not a huge blue cheese fan, but it mixes well with the other flavours and isn't too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
Great! The only thing I did different was use brown sugar instead of the white, red wine instead of the vinegar, and mixed the blue cheese with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
This was a great twist to an old favorite. Turns out the Dijon works just fine, but I will try the course dijon next time and compare. Used splenda to carmelize my onions rather than sugar and could tell no difference. May wrap the outside of the filets in bacon next time as well...BAM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States