Smothered Filet Mignon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
The only changes I made were 1) r/f gorgonzola instead of blue cheese, a little less; 2) regular Dijon instead of course grainy dijon; smart balance instead of butter; cooked as directed but used indoor grill pan on high heat, 3-4 mins per side for med-rare. This has potential to be 5 stars if I correct my technique. Would prob cook on outdoor grill next time. . . smoked out my house and steak is just so good on grill! Would cook a little longer at med-high instead. The marinade and caramelized onions made this. . . great dish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ciccone Kershaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Great recipe! We used our George Foreman grill with it in the open position. Next time we will try with either Mozzarella, goat or Feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: China Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This was a good recipe although I feel like the combination of flavors really took away from the flavor of the meat itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This was great! The sweet flavor of the caramelized onions balances out terrifically with the savory tartness of the blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by the Tower Chef
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I am not an accomplished chef with steak, but with the directions here, the steak turned out amazing! We used sirloin and still had great results. If you are not a blue cheese fan, feta also works well. The directions on how to cook the steak made all the difference for me. We just made this for friends and it was a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
The filet had a wonderful flavor. The onions & blue cheese were a great addition. It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
My husband loved this recipe as written. I preferred it without the toppings (onions and cheese) in the end... It was easy enough for me to just scrape them off and enjoy the flavor of the marinated steak. We will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Very good. Only changes: eliminated sugar and butter...and added a bit more olive oil to make it healthier. Taste did not suffer at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Not for me! Caramelized onions add a lot of sweetness to a premium cut of meat which does not require or want sweetness. I will stay with a basic filet mignon or maybe some slightly Asian flavor but not a sweet flavor. Thanks for trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Oh my! This was amazing. I had bought Piedmontese filets and was worried about trying something new with such an expensive cut. I don't think I've ever received so many compliments! Be sure to grill these, don't sear!!! I always buy Benissimo Basil & Dried Tomato Olive Oil (actually dipping oil) to use in some receipes so I used it instead of adding the herbs. Amazing! I offered blue cheese and goat cheese. Thanks so much, I will definitely make this many times this summer!UPDATE: Less than a week later, I used the marinade on some steak/onion kabobs on the grill, then sprinkled with blue cheese crumbles when done. Not exactly the same but at was wonderful as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States