Smothered Filet Mignon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I used goat cheese (AMAZING) as it was what was in my fridge and I didn't feel like doing groceries... and I added a red wine reduction, def. not needed as this cut is so juicy but it definitely complimented it fantastically. Best meal I've ever made... maybe even ever eaten..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Very good. I substituted feta for the bleu cheese only because that is what I had on hand. It was excellent with the feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Oh my!! YUM! I actually marinated this overnight because my hubby got called into work when I was planning on grilling it. Thank goodness... the flavor was superb!! I will definately be making this again and again and I will always marinate it overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I have made this recipe now 4 times and each time I say it's the best steak I've ever had. Now...I don't go buy the $90 steak at the steakhouse, but I'm not shy about ordering a good piece of meat from a top steakhouse and if you get a good cut of meat from a butcher then it will top just about anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This recipe was awesome! Loved the blue cheese. Altered the marinade - used actual dijon mustard and red cooking wine in place of the balsamic. It was great! Also cooked up some bacon and crumbled on top with the onion and and blue cheese. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawnkyung

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This recipe is AMAZING! We make it again and again. The only change is we use venison steaks, and that works just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
OUTSTANDING !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nukriot
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Outstanding! My wife and I made this for Valentine's Day and it was scrumdiddlyupmtious!!! Definitely recommend to any meat lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nukriot

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Excellent! I made this for Valentines dinner last night, and now I wish I'd made an extra steak for later. I didn't have any blue cheese, but the marinade and carmelized onion were full of flavor on their own. I did use about 2 tablespoons of the leftover marinade in the onions, and reduced it before adding the sugar. I was able to cut out the butter by using the olive oil in the marinade instead. Can't wait for an excuse to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mutton Chop Begay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States