Smothered Filet Mignon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I made this last night for my family and they died because it was so amazing! They are making me make it again for them tonight! Definitely a new favorite :D Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This was delicious. I followed the recipe as written except I reduced the sugar slightly and didnt bother with one side of the grill being hotter than the other. Someone complained about the blue cheese - saying it overwhlemed the meat - please don't skimp on the blue cheese!!! The blue cheese, along with the yummy marinade, makes the recipe! If we didn't want a blue cheese taste we would not have selected this recipe! Glad I made this for our anniversary dinner...Can't wait to make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I made this a few nights ago for our Valentine’s Day dinner along with potatoes and roasted asparagus. I was surprised by the short marinating time, but followed the recipe. I caramelized the onions earlier in the day and zapped them in the microwave just before topping the grilled filets. Rather than try to top the steaks while standing over a searing grill, we brought them inside, topped them with the onions and blue cheese and popped them under the broiler just until the cheese began to melt. Hubs and I both like our filets and we really enjoyed the caramelized onions on this. But we both agreed the blue cheese overwhelmed all the other flavors, even though I skimped on it a bit. For us the blue cheese was about all we could taste. So our conclusion is that we’ll definitely make this again, but skip the blue cheese entirely. I guess it’s just not for us. I do think, however, a balsamic glaze drizzled over the onions/steaks would be fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
The marinade was AWESOME! The steaks were tender and juicy. I will use this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beautifulvanilla@mac.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Delicious! We used this on a couple of sirloin steaks and it was fantastic. I didn't have dijon mustard so I just mixed Hot and Sweet with Coarse Brown, turned out great! The onions are terrific! Add blue cheese a little at a time, because a little goes a long way on this steak! No leftovers, everyone cleaned their plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I used red wine vinegar instead of balsamic. I broiled the steaks in the oven instead of grilling. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
One word: AMAZING. I broiled the steak, and the flavor was to die for. Will make again soon!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Amazing. The balance of sweet and salty between the onions and blue cheese is perfect. We will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
A little too sweet for me. If I try again, I'd cut the sugar by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal Stedler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
AWESOME! After I trimmed the filet, I marinated in a large ziplock, with all of the air squeezed out. Do NOT marinate for longer than 30 minutes. You would think that filet mignon would not absorb a lot of marinade because it is so moist but it does. The only changes I made were to cut the sugar in half and use brown sugar instead of white and I used gorgonzola because that was what I had. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReddGypsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States