Smothered Filet Mignon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I am not a steak eater, but once a year will eat a filet. This was our first attempt at grilling them at home. My husband did a great job with the grilling of the steaks. The instruction/heat time was perfect for a medium-rare steak. The flavor was outstanding, and the bleu cheese was a perfect topping. Served these with 'Grilled Rock Lobster Tails', 'Grilled Sweet Onion' both from AR and grilled Parmesan green beans. Definitely a 5-star meal tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I didn't have Rosemary or Blue Cheese and somehow managed to forget the sugar and onions (duh), but it still was absolutely FANTASTIC!!! This will be the only way I cook a filet from now on. Oh, I also didn't have Dijon, so I just used another spicy mustard I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKANANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Elkview, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Delicious favors!! Definitely a keeper!; My husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Let me start by saying I don't really care for steak, so covering it in cheese and other goodness was sort of a brilliant idea to me. I couldn't find filet mignon at our commissary anywhere so I went with 4 strip steaks and they worked fine. Everyone really loved this. Except me. I mean the toppings were tasty and all but the steak still tasted just like... well, steak. I didn't think the marinade did much for it. On the upside, I left two of the steaks in the marinade overnight and cooked them today, sliced thin and had steak salad for lunch. That was superb. I might make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
What a wonderful balance, I didn't Have Dijon, rather a Spicy Brown Mustard, nor did I have blue cheese, so I just smothered the filet in the caramelized onions. The dish turned out perfect. I had a nice bottle of Affentaler Valley of the Monkey Baden Pinot Nior to match the meal. Thanks for the excellent posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Ditt
Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Excellent! So easy to make and very flavorful. The balsamic marinade is excellent. I used dijon and will again. I also used sweet onions and omitted the sugar, there is no need for it. My husband loved it. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This recipe is great when you cannot afford a fillet mignon this will also work well with a london broil and chicken breast if you want to change it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I used coarse ground mustard in lieu of plain dijon mustard (it was what I had on hand) and omitted the onions out of personal preference, but the marinade was delicious. Very simple and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by truckin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States