Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Had so looked forward to making this..... Unfortunately it was A LOT of work for little return on a meal that tasted very similar to my stew. I had to let the "gravy" reduce down an additional 3 hours for a total of 5 hours of simmering to get the desired result and thickness. However the flavor of the gravy was absolutely wonderful. Probably will not make this again based on the time factor involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Oh, wow, was this good! Until tonight I had never had beef short ribs and I'll tell you, good old fashioned home cooking just doesn't get any better than this. A superb blend of ingredients that created the perfect dish. But when I make this again, I'll do it a day in advance and simply reheat it the next day, especially if I make this for guests. All the prep and clean-up will have been taken care of. Also, nine cups of liquid takes a long time to reduce--much longer than 2 hours. Even at 2-1/2 hours I still had to thicken it up with a bit of cornstarch. Finally, no matter how lean the ribs are, there is still a lot of rendered fat. Making these the day before will allow me to refrigerate them overnight and then remove all the solidified fat. The extra work involved and the long cooking time, however, is SO worth the effort. The ribs are full of beefy flavor and fork tender. The gravy just can't be beat--intensely rich, brown and full-flavored. I served this over polenta and it brought me right back to Grandma's house in my childhood. Mom came for dinner and she happily took what little leftovers there were home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This was excellent!! I accidently gave this review to the wrong recipe. Oops! Well this is the one. I made this lastnight for my family and they loved it!! This is so easy even if you are not a regular cook you can do this and wow whomever you are cooking it for. We felt like we were eating at a 5 star restaraunt lastnight. I used a semi-sweet semi-dry red wine in this to have a happy medium in the sweetness level. This was the first time ever for me trying to make short ribs and I am not sorry that I did!! MM MM....good! Hats off to the creator of this meal. To thicken the sauce at the end I used a bit of cornstarch instead of flour. Was worried that it would have that raw flour taste in the background. The cornstarch was perfect. Please do try this over buttery mashed potatoes it gives it that added heaven not to mention it makes it that much more filling. Don't pass this one up try it you will not be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This recipe is amazing, my second time! My husband said I became possessed by a NY chef. I did follow another review and use top of the line meat from Gelsons so there was less fat. I didn't think the fat was an issue at all. The broth barely had any fat floating at the top. I altered the recipe for 3 servings, and added more veggies 1 hr in. I made the mistake of cutting veggies too small and they just disappeared after 2 hrs of cooking. My son who doesn't like veggies loved the carrots and even the celery! The flavors are amazing. the key is to cook until the sauce thickens (without a lid) so that there isn't "so much liquid" as other reviewers noted. You could probably 1/2 the broth portion if you were using less meat, basically have enough broth to cover over and cook the meat for 2 hrs and that should be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I followed all instructions until it was time to simmer for 2 hours. Instead I poured everything into a slow cooker for 4 hours on low. This may be too much work for some, but I enjoy my slow cooker. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickettFence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I cooked this in the crockpot and I added a packet of dry onion soup mix to it for extra flavor. Was excellent, everyone loved it and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
My family loves this recipe! I made it once with short ribs, but switched to making it with pre-cut stew meat. The sauce is delicious--a cross between pot roast flavor and beef burgandy. I chop my veggies up very small so they melt into the sauce, then I add some bigger chunks of carrots, onions, and celery to stew with the meat. I serve it in bowls of mashed potatoes. A huge hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
A very good recipe.. A keeper.. I would use less liquid next time. 6 cups of stock instead of 8
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
BEST EVER SHORT RIBS: I MADE THESE LAST NIGHT AND MY HUSBAND DID NOT STOP TELLING HOW GOOD DINNER WAS UNTIL BEDTIME. WE ARE HAVING THE LEFT OVERS TONIGHT. IT IS WELL WORTH THE TIME TO FIX THIS RECEIPE. I THICKEND THE SAUCE JUST A BIT AFTER THE RIBS WERE READY TO SERVE. WE TOO HAD THEM OVER MASHED POTATOS ALONG WITH A SALAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardena, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
Very good. The only change I made was to add a 4 oz can of tomato paste and a 14.5 oz can of tomato sauce. Then in the end I thickened it a little by mixing in 3 teaspoons of cornstarch disolved in water. It gave the sauce a slightly tomato gravy taste that went well with the mashed potatoes that I also served with it at Michele's suggestion. It all went over very well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States