Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This recipe was awesome! excellent flavor tender meat wine gave it flavor but I would use only 6 cups beef stock instead of 8 way to much gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
All I can say is AWESOME~I had family in from out of town when I attempted this recipe and it was a hit. Not a drop left over. This will now be my go-to recipe. I've also used a pot roast cut into big chunks and slow cooked all day, following the same ingredients. That was yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Very good as is, although I thought there was too much liquid. Second time around I changed it to my tastes...substituted 4 slices of bacon, chopped, for the olive oil and crisped that up before searing the short ribs (6 lbs trimmed instead of 4 lbs) in the bacon grease. Strained the excess grease then continued with the recipe as is. After returning short ribs to pot also added 6 potatoes, quartered; 6 carrots peeled and quartered; 6 stalks celery, peeled and quartered, to make a hearty one pot meal for 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I use a small 2 at crock pot. reduce amount of water by 1/3 of recipe. I recalculated for 3 servings. I also added 1/4 bell pepper chopped and 1/2 sweet potatoe. I cooked on low in crockpot for 8 hours. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuWana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This is very tasty, the sauce never thickened but Im sure with a little cornstarch or flour water that could be fixed. I cooked it for 3 hours because we like it very tender. I omitted celery because I didnt have any on hand. I will try this again sometime with celery. You were right, it is very yummy on top of mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houston_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
You dont have to use flour on the meat, it is just as good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I had never cooked short ribs, this was easy and was delicious. Will add more veggies next time and maybe add parsnips too. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
My boyfriend really liked this. I still prefer the Korean style short ribs (sliced thin), but these were tasty and tender. I used chicken stock instead of beef stock, and I thought the flouring and frying of the ribs was a nice touch. Served over brown rice cooked in chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Knight Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States