Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
All I can say is AWESOME~I had family in from out of town when I attempted this recipe and it was a hit. Not a drop left over. This will now be my go-to recipe. I've also used a pot roast cut into big chunks and slow cooked all day, following the same ingredients. That was yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Very good as is, although I thought there was too much liquid. Second time around I changed it to my tastes...substituted 4 slices of bacon, chopped, for the olive oil and crisped that up before searing the short ribs (6 lbs trimmed instead of 4 lbs) in the bacon grease. Strained the excess grease then continued with the recipe as is. After returning short ribs to pot also added 6 potatoes, quartered; 6 carrots peeled and quartered; 6 stalks celery, peeled and quartered, to make a hearty one pot meal for 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I use a small 2 at crock pot. reduce amount of water by 1/3 of recipe. I recalculated for 3 servings. I also added 1/4 bell pepper chopped and 1/2 sweet potatoe. I cooked on low in crockpot for 8 hours. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuWana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This is very tasty, the sauce never thickened but Im sure with a little cornstarch or flour water that could be fixed. I cooked it for 3 hours because we like it very tender. I omitted celery because I didnt have any on hand. I will try this again sometime with celery. You were right, it is very yummy on top of mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houston_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
You dont have to use flour on the meat, it is just as good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I had never cooked short ribs, this was easy and was delicious. Will add more veggies next time and maybe add parsnips too. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
My boyfriend really liked this. I still prefer the Korean style short ribs (sliced thin), but these were tasty and tender. I used chicken stock instead of beef stock, and I thought the flouring and frying of the ribs was a nice touch. Served over brown rice cooked in chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Knight Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I did not change a thing. The short ribs came out tasting a lot like my roasts do except it was just so moist! I just couldn't get over how much flavor was packed in and it was not dry at all! I really liked that. It was worth all the work. Thanks for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States