Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is very good, the only different thing I did, was used one whole bunch of fresh thyme (tied with kitchen string) and 1 large bay leaf ( cause bay is strong to me) I used 4 bone in ribs and the rest were boneless/fatless beef ribs...turned out great, even my pickest of pickest nephew ate seconds!!! So thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Added some 2 T Worcestershire sauce and one T sugar along with new potatoes. This recipe rocked!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
My husband simply raved about this receipe. He keeps asking when I am going to make it again. Even though he loves many of the dishes I prepare, he says that this is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This recipe was awesome! excellent flavor tender meat wine gave it flavor but I would use only 6 cups beef stock instead of 8 way to much gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
All I can say is AWESOME~I had family in from out of town when I attempted this recipe and it was a hit. Not a drop left over. This will now be my go-to recipe. I've also used a pot roast cut into big chunks and slow cooked all day, following the same ingredients. That was yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Very good as is, although I thought there was too much liquid. Second time around I changed it to my tastes...substituted 4 slices of bacon, chopped, for the olive oil and crisped that up before searing the short ribs (6 lbs trimmed instead of 4 lbs) in the bacon grease. Strained the excess grease then continued with the recipe as is. After returning short ribs to pot also added 6 potatoes, quartered; 6 carrots peeled and quartered; 6 stalks celery, peeled and quartered, to make a hearty one pot meal for 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I use a small 2 at crock pot. reduce amount of water by 1/3 of recipe. I recalculated for 3 servings. I also added 1/4 bell pepper chopped and 1/2 sweet potatoe. I cooked on low in crockpot for 8 hours. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuWana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This is very tasty, the sauce never thickened but Im sure with a little cornstarch or flour water that could be fixed. I cooked it for 3 hours because we like it very tender. I omitted celery because I didnt have any on hand. I will try this again sometime with celery. You were right, it is very yummy on top of mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houston_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
You dont have to use flour on the meat, it is just as good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States