Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Hubby says "KEEPER!" Tweaked it a little: 6 cups of liquid (4 cups of water with 3 beef bullion cubes, 1 can beef broth, 2 packets of Swanson Beef "Flavor Boost"), 1 envelope Lipton onion soup mix, no parsley. After 2 hours, removed beef and strained veggies from stock, reduced stock to half and added flour slurry (1/3 cup cold water and 3 Tbsp flour, shaken together) and added to boiling stock to thicken. Added veggies and beef back to pot and served over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
My husband LOVED this and keeps asking me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Wow. The flavor of these ribs and the gravy was sooo good! Even my picky 4 year old who cried when I made him taste them hummed merrily while he finished everything on his plate. I made the recipe exactly as directed but added additional carrots which I am glad of because of how delicious they were. I used boneless short ribs and trimmed off the fat as much as possible. Not something to help you lose weight, but I didn't think my gravy turned out too greasy. I'll make this again next time I buy short ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This was an amazing dish for the amount of effort you put into it! I added a lot more carrots and cut them into a larger chunks. I used the full amount of minced garlic called for in the recipe thou I was only serving two people with 2.5 lbs of beef short ribs. I used enough beef broth to cover the ribs while simmering, uncovered. The ribs were ready in 3 hours time. About 2 1/2 hours into the cooking, I noticed there was still a lot of beef broth, so I thickened it up with cornstarch. The beef ribs were so soft it FELL off the bone as I was trying to eat it! The beef was fork tender, juicy, and soft. The ribs were full of beefy flavor - wonderfully delicious. The gravy was so rich and tasty! I served this over rice and "green beans with hazelnuts and lemon", also from this website. I was asked to make this AGAIN. The extra work involved is worth the effort for a truly satisfying and delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
After having "melt in your mouth" beef short ribs at a restaurant, I thought I'd try making some for my family. I can't fault the recipe, but I was so bummed that after all of the effort and time spent, there was not much flavor to what little meat I could get from the ribs. (I think I bought quality meat - from a local specialty market). Mine was mostly fat or fatty meat. The aroma coming from the stovetop was wonderful, but unfortunately, the meal was not. I might try this same recipe with a pot roast and put in my slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This was a delicious meal, we just didn't realize how much work they take.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
The was a good recipe... I didn't have Red Wine, carrots or celery but everything else worked just GREAT.... Will try again with everything!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmie Kim
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Wow! This was so yummy! My husband is always asking me to make it. I made it without the red wine and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaimie Agostino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This was my first venture with short ribs and it was incredible. The flavor is sooo good and it is perfect on top of mashed potatoes. The perfect Sunday night dinner when you don't have much to do. Though it takes a while, most of it is just sitting and trying to hold yourself back from attacking the pot when it really starts to simmer and the aroma fills the house. Try to buy boneless shortribs if you can - less fat to deal with later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This recipe was OK. The stock quantity definitely needs to be cut in half. It can also help to add some corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States