Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Mmmm, this was so good, I added dried onion soup mix, my picky eater son said the flavors were so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This didn't come out well.... After doing the browning of the ribs & sauteeing the veggies, I threw everything in a crockpot. After putting in the 1 cup of wine, I could only fit in 4 cups of broth. I let it all cook on low for around 8 hours. Tried straining the broth out & making a sauce with it using a roux, on the stovetop in a small pan. We weren't thrilled with this, granted I did change it a little but who has 2 hours to sit around while dinner cooks & that is in addition to prep & clean up time. I wouldn't make this again, it was too much work for something mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Well, I wish I would have read reviews before making this. My poor husband had to eat leftovers because this was not ready in time. I will follow the advise of others and put in crockpot for the day. We have not tried this yet. I stuck it in the fridge before bed time. I will try this recipe again however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommeefit
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Hubby says "KEEPER!" Tweaked it a little: 6 cups of liquid (4 cups of water with 3 beef bullion cubes, 1 can beef broth, 2 packets of Swanson Beef "Flavor Boost"), 1 envelope Lipton onion soup mix, no parsley. After 2 hours, removed beef and strained veggies from stock, reduced stock to half and added flour slurry (1/3 cup cold water and 3 Tbsp flour, shaken together) and added to boiling stock to thicken. Added veggies and beef back to pot and served over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
My husband LOVED this and keeps asking me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Wow. The flavor of these ribs and the gravy was sooo good! Even my picky 4 year old who cried when I made him taste them hummed merrily while he finished everything on his plate. I made the recipe exactly as directed but added additional carrots which I am glad of because of how delicious they were. I used boneless short ribs and trimmed off the fat as much as possible. Not something to help you lose weight, but I didn't think my gravy turned out too greasy. I'll make this again next time I buy short ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This was an amazing dish for the amount of effort you put into it! I added a lot more carrots and cut them into a larger chunks. I used the full amount of minced garlic called for in the recipe thou I was only serving two people with 2.5 lbs of beef short ribs. I used enough beef broth to cover the ribs while simmering, uncovered. The ribs were ready in 3 hours time. About 2 1/2 hours into the cooking, I noticed there was still a lot of beef broth, so I thickened it up with cornstarch. The beef ribs were so soft it FELL off the bone as I was trying to eat it! The beef was fork tender, juicy, and soft. The ribs were full of beefy flavor - wonderfully delicious. The gravy was so rich and tasty! I served this over rice and "green beans with hazelnuts and lemon", also from this website. I was asked to make this AGAIN. The extra work involved is worth the effort for a truly satisfying and delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
After having "melt in your mouth" beef short ribs at a restaurant, I thought I'd try making some for my family. I can't fault the recipe, but I was so bummed that after all of the effort and time spent, there was not much flavor to what little meat I could get from the ribs. (I think I bought quality meat - from a local specialty market). Mine was mostly fat or fatty meat. The aroma coming from the stovetop was wonderful, but unfortunately, the meal was not. I might try this same recipe with a pot roast and put in my slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This was a delicious meal, we just didn't realize how much work they take.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
The was a good recipe... I didn't have Red Wine, carrots or celery but everything else worked just GREAT.... Will try again with everything!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmie Kim
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States