Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I love, love, love these. I pretty much cook exactly as stated. It's a great dinner to start cooking in the crockpot in the morning before you leave for work and then come up to a great smelling house. Yummy, perfect. Add carrots, celery, potatoes. Whatever you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
While the meat was cooked perfectly, my family and I found the sauce very bland. My go to recipe for short ribs has always been Braised Hoisin Beer Short Ribs by Dave Lieberman. I think I am spoiled from that recipe. This wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I made this for my Sunday Dinner rather than grilling short ribs like I usually do. I must say I will definitely make this again! I follow the recipe to the teeth except I thicken my gravy with a little flour and water mix. I served them with black eye peas and yellow rice.My huband loved it. Will have the leftovers with mashed potatoes like the other reviewers. Try it I know you will love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Garvin-Owsley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Did not like this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSEWINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paris, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
The most delectable tasting recipe I have ever made or even tasted! Wish I could give it a hundred stars.... Yes... It's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Delicious short ribs! This was my first time making them and I stuck to the recipe given. Next time, I would use less liquid and also plan on them taking longer to cook than stated. I never got a thick gravy so I would change that up a little too. They came out very tender and flavorful. I made a beef and barley soup with the leftover broth. Thank you, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This was amazing.My husband & I loved it.The only things I change were no carrots(didn't have any) and I used a store brand container of beef broth,which didn't have a rich enough flavor to suit me.I added a packet of Swanson Beef Flavor Boost to the pot and that did the trick.I cooked them a little longer than called for,till meat was falling off the bones.I thickened the gravy with a little cornstarch & water,and served with mashed potatoes & vegetable.There was gravy left,so I froze it for another meal.Will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kutztown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I made the recipe as it's stated except that after I browned the meat and cooked the carrots and onion a bit, I put everything in the slow cooker and let it cook on high for 5 hours. I added a few tablespoons of cornstarch near the end to thicken the gravy up a bit. The flavor of this was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
made this as a father's day dinner. easy to make had to substitute pink wine for red wine and added a few small hot peppers. still came out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shamrockbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Wonderful my family really loved it I followed the recipe but instead of using 4 lbs of ribs I used 6 since the recipe called for so much liquid. I also added 1 packet of onion soup mix for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeorgiaPeach2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thomasville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States