Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
This is a great recipe. I think I will try it with lamb shanks. The sauce is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
BEST EVER SHORT RIBS: I MADE THESE LAST NIGHT AND MY HUSBAND DID NOT STOP TELLING HOW GOOD DINNER WAS UNTIL BEDTIME. WE ARE HAVING THE LEFT OVERS TONIGHT. IT IS WELL WORTH THE TIME TO FIX THIS RECEIPE. I THICKEND THE SAUCE JUST A BIT AFTER THE RIBS WERE READY TO SERVE. WE TOO HAD THEM OVER MASHED POTATOS ALONG WITH A SALAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardena, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
wow, this is great... I chopped the veges small, they melted in with the sauce. I did have to thicken the sauce. I used only 1/2 the broth. I also cooked in a slow cooker. melt in your mouth goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This is a very good recipe. IT's easy and very taste. It's even better the next day. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
I made this recipe for my family and everyone loved it including my 3 year old granddaughter who had 3 helpings. My son-in-law couldn't stop raving about the flavor of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I've made this recipe a few times and each time got rave reviews from my entire family (including my 10 year old). This is great and a family keeper. Didn't add the bay leaves but tasted good just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
Very good. The only change I made was to add a 4 oz can of tomato paste and a 14.5 oz can of tomato sauce. Then in the end I thickened it a little by mixing in 3 teaspoons of cornstarch disolved in water. It gave the sauce a slightly tomato gravy taste that went well with the mashed potatoes that I also served with it at Michele's suggestion. It all went over very well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
THIS RECIPE WAS A HIT IN OUR HOUSEHOLD. THE BEEF WAS TENDER, TASTY AND MY HUSBAND LOVED IT. WHILE THE BEEF WAS COOKING YOU HAVE AMPLE TIME TO PREPARE VEGGIES, STARCH AND DESSERT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
This was a great recipe. Very tasty and easy to make. I scaled it down to 2 servings and added a can of diced tomatoes and only one can broth. I might have added to much oil, so I had to thicken it up with some cornstarch, but I believe that was my own fault. This is a great recipe and I will make it again. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calead910

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Made it in the slow cooker. Used half the broth. Quintessential comfort food! Served over egg noodles for casual diner with company. LOVE these delicious and EASY recipes!! I keep selling my cookbooks at garage sales, don't use them since I found Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States