Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Wasn't a fan of this. The beer was overpowering and the gravy wasn't thick at all. The meat was tender but the overall flavor just didn't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I omitted the celery as I don't like it but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. It didn't thicken up to a gravy texture but that's ok. I could've just added cornstarch. It tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piercedambition

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
baked short ribs for second half of cooking time. stock makes excellent french onion soup base-- just add more onions to leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
First time I ever made beef short ribs. My guys really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
The flavor of this dish is great, very earthy; however, I don't like this cut of meat. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Had so looked forward to making this..... Unfortunately it was A LOT of work for little return on a meal that tasted very similar to my stew. I had to let the "gravy" reduce down an additional 3 hours for a total of 5 hours of simmering to get the desired result and thickness. However the flavor of the gravy was absolutely wonderful. Probably will not make this again based on the time factor involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Fabulous recipe!! I followed the recipe reasonably closely (I rarely actually measure for dishes like this), and it came out wonderfully flavorful. I will be using the same recipe again next week for a pot roast. This is as good as it gets for wintertime comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I followed the recipe to the "T" and found it to be just yummy!! I always find short ribs to be very fatty so I skimmed off the fat as they were cooking on the stove and that helped with the greasiness. It left an amazing gravy after cooking for 3 hours. Paired with mashed potatoes and rolls finished off the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Excellent! My house smells so wonderful simmering this rich flavorful broth uncovered. Cooked for 2 and 1/2 hours and beef was so tender and delicious. I used about 6 cups of broth instead of 8 and didn't have enough beef broth so used 2 cups of chicken broth. Still amazing. Served over mashed potatoes and my husband will NOT stay away from the leftovers! A new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Allgood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Really tasty and the short ribs are tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States