Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Made just as directed and these are very good. I agree it would be best to make them ahead of time so the excess fat can easily be removed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
used 6 ribs, 1/2 cup flour, 3 carrots, 3 parsnips, creole season
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Enyeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Years ago I made beef short ribs for the first and last time (I thought) – way too fatty and greasy. But recently we were at a friend’s house for dinner and she served short ribs. I silently cringed, but they were wonderful! So, I thought I needed to try again. I bought boneless short ribs, as she had used, and selected this recipe. Admittedly, I changed the process quite a bit, but still came out with a wonderfully rich tasting dish. I browned my ribs and removed them from the skillet. I skipped sautéing the carrots and celery and proceeded directly to sautéing the garlic for a minute and then deglazing with the red wine. I added the stock, browned short ribs, bay leaf and thyme and cooked uncovered over a low simmer for about 90 minutes. Because I thought my liquid was reducing too much, I covered my pan for another 30 minutes. I wanted my vegetables to be crisp tender and maintain their color, so I continued to cook covered, adding the carrots for another 40 minutes, the celery for the last 30 minutes and the onion for the last 20 minutes. The carrots and celery were perfect; 20 minutes for the onion was 5-10 minutes too long. I did thicken my sauce with just a bit of cornstarch and water. These were wonderful ribs in a deep, rich sauce with vegetables that hadn’t turned to mush. Served over rice and we enjoyed this very much!! Now, I’ll do short ribs again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is very good, the only different thing I did, was used one whole bunch of fresh thyme (tied with kitchen string) and 1 large bay leaf ( cause bay is strong to me) I used 4 bone in ribs and the rest were boneless/fatless beef ribs...turned out great, even my pickest of pickest nephew ate seconds!!! So thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Added some 2 T Worcestershire sauce and one T sugar along with new potatoes. This recipe rocked!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
My husband simply raved about this receipe. He keeps asking when I am going to make it again. Even though he loves many of the dishes I prepare, he says that this is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This recipe was awesome! excellent flavor tender meat wine gave it flavor but I would use only 6 cups beef stock instead of 8 way to much gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
All I can say is AWESOME~I had family in from out of town when I attempted this recipe and it was a hit. Not a drop left over. This will now be my go-to recipe. I've also used a pot roast cut into big chunks and slow cooked all day, following the same ingredients. That was yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Very good as is, although I thought there was too much liquid. Second time around I changed it to my tastes...substituted 4 slices of bacon, chopped, for the olive oil and crisped that up before searing the short ribs (6 lbs trimmed instead of 4 lbs) in the bacon grease. Strained the excess grease then continued with the recipe as is. After returning short ribs to pot also added 6 potatoes, quartered; 6 carrots peeled and quartered; 6 stalks celery, peeled and quartered, to make a hearty one pot meal for 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I use a small 2 at crock pot. reduce amount of water by 1/3 of recipe. I recalculated for 3 servings. I also added 1/4 bell pepper chopped and 1/2 sweet potatoe. I cooked on low in crockpot for 8 hours. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuWana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States