Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is very good, the only different thing I did, was used one whole bunch of fresh thyme (tied with kitchen string) and 1 large bay leaf ( cause bay is strong to me) I used 4 bone in ribs and the rest were boneless/fatless beef ribs...turned out great, even my pickest of pickest nephew ate seconds!!! So thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Added some 2 T Worcestershire sauce and one T sugar along with new potatoes. This recipe rocked!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
My husband simply raved about this receipe. He keeps asking when I am going to make it again. Even though he loves many of the dishes I prepare, he says that this is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This recipe was awesome! excellent flavor tender meat wine gave it flavor but I would use only 6 cups beef stock instead of 8 way to much gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
All I can say is AWESOME~I had family in from out of town when I attempted this recipe and it was a hit. Not a drop left over. This will now be my go-to recipe. I've also used a pot roast cut into big chunks and slow cooked all day, following the same ingredients. That was yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Very good as is, although I thought there was too much liquid. Second time around I changed it to my tastes...substituted 4 slices of bacon, chopped, for the olive oil and crisped that up before searing the short ribs (6 lbs trimmed instead of 4 lbs) in the bacon grease. Strained the excess grease then continued with the recipe as is. After returning short ribs to pot also added 6 potatoes, quartered; 6 carrots peeled and quartered; 6 stalks celery, peeled and quartered, to make a hearty one pot meal for 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I use a small 2 at crock pot. reduce amount of water by 1/3 of recipe. I recalculated for 3 servings. I also added 1/4 bell pepper chopped and 1/2 sweet potatoe. I cooked on low in crockpot for 8 hours. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuWana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This is very tasty, the sauce never thickened but Im sure with a little cornstarch or flour water that could be fixed. I cooked it for 3 hours because we like it very tender. I omitted celery because I didnt have any on hand. I will try this again sometime with celery. You were right, it is very yummy on top of mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houston_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
You dont have to use flour on the meat, it is just as good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States