Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This recipe is amazing, my second time! My husband said I became possessed by a NY chef. I did follow another review and use top of the line meat from Gelsons so there was less fat. I didn't think the fat was an issue at all. The broth barely had any fat floating at the top. I altered the recipe for 3 servings, and added more veggies 1 hr in. I made the mistake of cutting veggies too small and they just disappeared after 2 hrs of cooking. My son who doesn't like veggies loved the carrots and even the celery! The flavors are amazing. the key is to cook until the sauce thickens (without a lid) so that there isn't "so much liquid" as other reviewers noted. You could probably 1/2 the broth portion if you were using less meat, basically have enough broth to cover over and cook the meat for 2 hrs and that should be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
My family loves this recipe! I made it once with short ribs, but switched to making it with pre-cut stew meat. The sauce is delicious--a cross between pot roast flavor and beef burgandy. I chop my veggies up very small so they melt into the sauce, then I add some bigger chunks of carrots, onions, and celery to stew with the meat. I serve it in bowls of mashed potatoes. A huge hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Didn't care for this recipe. Too much fat and way to much liquid. the flavors were ok. Maybe it needs a better cut of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
A very good recipe.. A keeper.. I would use less liquid next time. 6 cups of stock instead of 8
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Ver tasty. I used less flour, oil and beef stock and no carrots: still good flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
The flavor was great, but I only simmered them for an hour and a half, maybe they would have been a little more tender if I left them the full 2 hours..... will try this again though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Excellent recipe with a unique flavor! Do try this, it's a keeper. Next time I will try beef chuck roast or maybe lamb; short ribs are just too fat. The house smelled wonderful, and our two dogs arm wrestled my husband to get some of it! Thank you very much, Michele.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
good, but it was better the next day for me and i added a little tomato paste to it. But overall I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I did use beef short ribs and I think because of the fat it made this really greasy and did not do it justice. The sauce is really delicious but I did add some cornstarch to thicken it up a little. Next time I will definetly use a better cut of meat. Otherwise very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
As others, I cut the amount of beef broth in half, and cooked this in my slow-cooker. Very flavorful! I don't normally like a bunch of veggies cooked with the meat, but these added to the flavor of the sauce. It did need to be thickened at the end, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States