Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Since it was a rainy, gloomy, chilly, and downright nasty day, I decided to have some "comfort food." Short ribs are just that! I followed this recipe pretty closely, and I have to agree with some other reviewers that this did not have enough "zip" for me, and I even added spices due to the number of folks who said that! However, that was the only negative in this whole recipe; I used 1 cup red wine, and 1 qt beef stock, just enough to cover the short ribs. Covered the first hour, no lid the second, the ribs were done to perfection in EXACTLY two hours, a pleasant surprise. I thickened the broth with a roux that I had made earlier in the week, and kept in the fridge for just such a need. Served over mashed potatoes, this tasted rich and indulgent. I will strain the remaining broth, dilute, and add noodles for tomorrow's dinner. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This was excellent!! I accidently gave this review to the wrong recipe. Oops! Well this is the one. I made this lastnight for my family and they loved it!! This is so easy even if you are not a regular cook you can do this and wow whomever you are cooking it for. We felt like we were eating at a 5 star restaraunt lastnight. I used a semi-sweet semi-dry red wine in this to have a happy medium in the sweetness level. This was the first time ever for me trying to make short ribs and I am not sorry that I did!! MM MM....good! Hats off to the creator of this meal. To thicken the sauce at the end I used a bit of cornstarch instead of flour. Was worried that it would have that raw flour taste in the background. The cornstarch was perfect. Please do try this over buttery mashed potatoes it gives it that added heaven not to mention it makes it that much more filling. Don't pass this one up try it you will not be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This has become my husbands favorite meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I didn't come out as expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Excellent flavor. Ymmmmmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I made this with the short ribs. If you make it with a "better quality of meat" you will be making runny beef stew. If the fat is a big problem for you, let the dish sit overnight in the fridge and then skim the fat off the next day. I do agree with other reviewers, there was way too much liquid. I would only add four cups of broth, not eight. Served the dish over Trader Joe's Garlic Mashed Potatoes. All-in-all, something I made once and enjoyed, but will probably never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I agree with others in that you should use less broth or just plan on using a thickening agent. My family loved this dish. I removed the meat than blended the veggies to make a great gravy for the mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I was skeptical at 1st...eating ribs in a non-barbequed fashion! But if you like a meat & potatoes meal that is really tasty, this is it. Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Wonderful flavor!!! Will probably try with a different kind of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I put these in the crockpot. They tasted like miniature individual pot roasts. They were good, but I was looking for something that has a little more zip to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States