Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This beef was so tender, my children had no problems eating it. It was absolutely delicious, even stone cold! I didn't have red wine on hand, so I deglazed with extra broth. I cut the amount of broth down, as other reviewers suggested, then thickened it with cornstarch and served it as stew the next day. I refrigerated it overnight and then removed the solid fat from the surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Great flavor - The only thing I changed was adding more garlic then called for. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookMe2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was ok. It just wasn't spectacular. I made it in a slow cooker, so I omitted one box of broth and there was still a ton of liquid. I served it over noodles. No other changes. Good, just not great and I will be looking for other short rib recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I can't believe that I had never eaten or cooked short ribs until a few weeks ago. I saw a recipe for short ribs Asian Style and we were blown away with it. I decided to try making traditional short ribs and chose this recipe. Again - another 5 star receipe. I served it over mashed potatoes. What a hit! Thank you submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This is great! I have passed this recipe out so many times. I have only made changes by accident! I have cut back a bit on the broth, the first time just because I didn't have enough. Just covering the meat works. I have put it in the oven in a roaster, covered for an hour, remove cover and cook about another hour to an hour and a half. I have gotten boneless beef short ribs from Costco and they just fall a part they get so tender. I have added quartered potatoes and they are so good. My 4 kids ask for this almost once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was very tasty, but a bit on the greasy side. Would trim off more fat next time. I didn't have celery, but used celery salt and added more onion. It worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Impressive!!! Wonderful.. Put this over couscous & added steamed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Oh, wow, was this good! Until tonight I had never had beef short ribs and I'll tell you, good old fashioned home cooking just doesn't get any better than this. A superb blend of ingredients that created the perfect dish. But when I make this again, I'll do it a day in advance and simply reheat it the next day, especially if I make this for guests. All the prep and clean-up will have been taken care of. Also, nine cups of liquid takes a long time to reduce--much longer than 2 hours. Even at 2-1/2 hours I still had to thicken it up with a bit of cornstarch. Finally, no matter how lean the ribs are, there is still a lot of rendered fat. Making these the day before will allow me to refrigerate them overnight and then remove all the solidified fat. The extra work involved and the long cooking time, however, is SO worth the effort. The ribs are full of beefy flavor and fork tender. The gravy just can't be beat--intensely rich, brown and full-flavored. I served this over polenta and it brought me right back to Grandma's house in my childhood. Mom came for dinner and she happily took what little leftovers there were home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
My DH thought this was pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Very flavorful recipe for short ribs. Followed the recipe as given with only one change: used half of the beef broth (1 box/32 oz./4 cups). Simmered this covered and then uncovered the last 45 minutes or so. Sauce turned out great - didn't need to thicken it, although if you like a thick gravy you may want to do so. Served with mashed potatoes. If you are worried about too much fat, check your short ribs. The butcher hand trimmed mine, so they were OK. A grocery store might not do that, so you'll have to trim some (not all) of the fat. Perfect comfort food for a cool, fall day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuscleMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States