Smothered Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Holy cow, I'm a short rib convert. Michele, thank you for this amazing recipe. I never buy short ribs because I always thought it was a lot of money to spend on a chunk of bone and fat. After ten years of listening to how much my guy loved his mother's short ribs, I decided to give it a try when I saw some particularly meaty ribs in the store. **Some folks have complained about the time and mess involved with this, not so. If you have the patience to read to the bottom, I'll explain how I only used one pot and a measuring cup to make this easy, cutting the cleanup down to nothing. I halved the recipe because there are just two of us, but that was a mistake. I should have doubled the recipe and locked him out of the house. Just a couple of changes... I trimmed some of the excess fat, used vegetable stock because that's what I always have on hand and added extra garlic. I also cooked this in the oven instead of on the stove. After two hours in a 350 oven these ribs were unbelievable. I couldn't waste all of those delicious juices so I took the meat out of the pot, added a can of broth and put in some mixed baby potatoes, mushrooms and carrots. That went back to the oven for another 30 minutes and I may have passed the time eating one tiny rib and gnawing on the bone. The next step was to remove the veggies and pour the broth in a grease separator before I poured it back in the pot and thickened it for gravey. I would have posted a picture, but tha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConstanceCooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I made this recipe tonight with a couple of changes. I only used 4 cups of broth. 8 was way too much to put in a dutch oven which is what I used to cook the dinner in. I also extended the cooking time to almost 3 hours. The result was the meat was extremely tender and the meal quite tasty. It need a bit more salt and pepper but that is an easy fix and a matter for individual taste. I would make it again, it was tastier then just putting it in a crock pot as I have done in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This only gets four stars from me, but that's because the cut of beef - short ribs - is just not for me. Too messy and too fatty. However, the flavor of the gravy and the flavor of the beef were outstanding. So, it would have been five stars with a different cut of beef. I will definitely make again. Like some other posters, I followed this recipe exactly up until it came time to cook. Then, I just threw it in the crockpot and forgot about it for about five hours. I didn't find the prep too difficult either. Very easy to follow directions. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Limestone, New York, USA
Living In: Allegany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
The dish came out delicious! Next time I won't chop the carrots as much. I used baby carrots and I should have just cut them in half. A rough chop on the onions is good enough too. I followed the recipe exactly. At the end, I removed the beef short ribs from the pot and I strained the remaining veggies from the liquid and set the veggies aside. I poured the liquid in my OXO Fat Separater and drew off at least a cup and a half of pure fat. I would suggest getting one if you don't want to take a lot of time trying to skim off all the fat. Most of it is hard to skim out. I tried but it was so mixed into the liquid I got out my fat separator. I was amazed how much fat I drew off. After removing the fat, I put the liquid and veggies back in the pot and added corn starch to thicken some and brought up to a healthy simmer and put the beef ribs back in the pot. I let it cook about five minutes more and then it was all done. We all really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I'm giving it a 4 because if I broke it down, I'd give the ribs themselves a 3- they didn't come out as fall-off-the-bone tender as I'd have liked. But the sauce, oh the sauce, OH MY, the sauce----- freakin' AMAZING!!!!!!!!!! Definitely a 5+ star sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Great Recipe. Restaurant quality taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I should have read the reviews before committing the time to this. It was way too greasy. To be fair, I think I got some bad cuts of meat. I may try it again but would trim the ribs, use less olive oil and probably less stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This is the first time I have cooked braised short ribs. This recipe is simple and delicious! I served the ribs over mashed potatoes and the dining was lovely. Based on personal preference I left out the thyme. I did not have to struggle with my five year-old daughter to eat her ribs because she loved the flavor! Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westexdad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Midway through putting this together, I realized I didn't have any red wine, so I omitted it. Still was very very good. I also transferred to a slow cooker so it was ready when I got home today. I served with mashed potatoes, and a gravy made from the juices from the slow cooker. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Delicious! Didn't change anything in this recipe except I used garlic powder equaling this recipe's minced garlic. YUM! Thanks for sharing this mouth-watering creation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States