Smothered Beef Liver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
I made this recipe up after eating everyone else's dried out liver. This is a great way to make liver, but DON'T OVERCOOK. The recipe doesn't state to simmer with a cover on, but please do this so the sauce will not reduce very much. Also, keep the flame on low while simmering. Good luck and I hope you like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrisville, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
If you don't like beef liver, you probably have always had the moisture pan fried out of it and then topped with greasy onions. This method is the ONLY way to eat liver: dredged in flour, browned quickly, then braised low heat briefly in liquid. Try it with tomato soup if you don't have sauce, or season it like swiss steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This is soo yummy! Not to meantion easy! Instead of using regular tomato sauce, I used garlic tomato sauce! Iv never had such soft liver. mmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
I try to be liberal in my reviews of recipes that turn out badly, but this recipe simply has no redeeming qualities. And before you jump to conclusions, yes, I like liver. This recipe simply did nothing for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I love beef liver and nothing is better then beef liver smothered. I make this once a week for breakfast or dinner. I change it a bit by using the oil in the pan after frying then add a little more flour with water to make a brown gray mix with the liver. great with rice and peas or dinner or grits and eggs for breakfast. family favorite and its a healthy meal as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akblkbarbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I have never bothered to rate recipes I use. But this one deserves my opinion. I and my family are use to the old time recipe of lots of onion and bury it in gravey. This was a great change and excellent taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This was really good, but for liver to be really tender and lose the strong flavor it needs to be marinated in plain or nonfat MILK for at least 15 or up to 60 minutes. This takes all the nasty strong flavor out, makes it fork tender and will be delicious any way you cook it. I used to hate the taste of liver, but once I discovered this secret, I can now eat it just seasoned with a little garlic salt & pepper & quickly pan fried in oil oil & butter (and put into a sandwich). Do this before any type of preparation and it will be DELISH!! As a side note; I have even left it sitting in milk overnite because after I started to prepare it I got a last minute invite to go out, and it was still wonderful the next day!! I just put plastic over the bowl & popped into the fridge... It was So tender & Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I am one of the rare breed who loves liver--beef and chicken. I don't eat anything pork, so pork liver is not in the race; but I do like beef and chicken liver, and I like variety (it is, after all, the spice of life). I like this recipe; but as Patty Mae pointed out, the pan should be covered while simmering the sauce and liver together. Also, I used butter instead of vegetable oil for sauteing the onion. Olive oil is another good choice. I avoid vegetable oil because of the GMO factor; and butter or olive oil are much healthier, not to mention much tastier, alternatives to vegetable oil. Liver and other organ meats are consumed for their health benefits (Vitamin A, Vitamin B6, Vitamin B12, Folate, Riboflavin, Niacin, Iron, Copper, Omega-6, Phosphorus, Selenium, Manganese, and Zinc, in this case), so it makes sense to use a sauteing medium that is also healthy. Butter provides selenium, iodine, vitamin A, and other nutrients that vegetable oil does not. Butter is also a good source of good cholesterol and glycospingolipids, which help protect the stomach from gastrointestinal infections. Olive oil helps to put HDL and LDL cholesterol into a healthy balance, as well as being anti-inflammatory. Coconut oil is another good oil to use because of its anti-fungual properties. I also use organic tomatoes. So, substituting butter, olive oil, or coconut oil for the vegetable oil and using organic tomatoes make this already VERY healthy recipe even healthier and tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlSwilling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
An excellent alternative to traditional liver and onions. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
We love the traditional Liver and Onions buried in brown gravy, but I decided to try this recipe. DELICIOUS AND SO TENDER. I may make the traditional type of dish as a change, but this is definitely going to be my favorite way to prepare liver and onions. I did make a few changes due to using what I had on hand: Used can of tomato soup and 1/4 cup water (misread the recipe). I mince/freeze 2 onions to a quart bag, so I used a bag of minced onions. Didn't have oregano, but substituted Italian seasoning and added 1/2 tsp of garlic powder. I told my husband that we were having ITALIAN BEEF LIVER. He also loved the flavor and tenderness of the liver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galena Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States