Smothered Beef Liver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Excellent very easy to make. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJ65

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
As a first time liver eater/cooker I was rather scared of screwing up and wanted to find a way to cook it so I might actually enjoy it. This suited me quite well. I have become a firm believer in cooking low and slow and it worked well for this as well. The meat was not dry and the tomato sauce helped with the strong taste (until I got a rather thick chunk and then I was just done). My boyfriend, who has always enjoyed liver, thought this turned out well as well. In my opinion, this is a great way to try liver for the first time if you're nervous of the strong taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This was my first time attempting eating or cooking liver. The flavor was fantastic but the texture was awful. Is this an inescapable feature of liver? Each bite started wonderfully and ended horribly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
We had it over spaghetti. Husband liked it and 9 year old ate it without a problem (though I still personally can't stand liver, though this was better than other times I've tried it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
First time I do this recipe and it came out pretty good and tender! I simmered it for exactly 10 minutes. Great idea for people needing protein, like geriatrics who are anemic and also cannot chew that well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Just like I remembered mom making. Quick and easy. Taught my son how to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was pretty good. The tomato flavor threw me off though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candid04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
An excellent alternative to traditional liver and onions. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was excellent but as always I made a few changes. Like Patty Mae, I instinctively covered the pan while letting the liver simmer & added a few spices to the flour mixture: 1/4 tsp powdered thyme, a pinch of paprika and a pinch of rubbed sage. Also used canned, crushed tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. I have never had such soft, tender liver. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I like liver, but this is the first time I've cooked it, and, the first time I've eaten it without gravy. Cooked as written. Very easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States