Smothered Beef Liver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
First time I do this recipe and it came out pretty good and tender! I simmered it for exactly 10 minutes. Great idea for people needing protein, like geriatrics who are anemic and also cannot chew that well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Just like I remembered mom making. Quick and easy. Taught my son how to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was pretty good. The tomato flavor threw me off though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candid04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
An excellent alternative to traditional liver and onions. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was excellent but as always I made a few changes. Like Patty Mae, I instinctively covered the pan while letting the liver simmer & added a few spices to the flour mixture: 1/4 tsp powdered thyme, a pinch of paprika and a pinch of rubbed sage. Also used canned, crushed tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. I have never had such soft, tender liver. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I like liver, but this is the first time I've cooked it, and, the first time I've eaten it without gravy. Cooked as written. Very easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Delicious! I was amazed how yummy this was. I tweaked the recipe a bit. I used 2 onions, the liver was broiled (kosher style), so I tried to minimize the frying and simmering. As soon as it was fried. I added the onions and the sauce (10.5 oz) which had mushrooms in it (ground up)and heated everything through. Then I just simmered for about 2-3 mins. Served whith fresh french fries and ... Surprise!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
My wife and I liked the recipie. It was easy to make and different . Also I liked the tip about the membrane with liver you need to know how to prepare the meat itself most important, it takes some time but it's necessary. I did change a couple things because I cooked more liver, (more tomato sauce and a little more water) I would use a little less oregano next time. I also used bacon grease instead of oil for alittle more flavor and served the bacon on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
We love the traditional Liver and Onions buried in brown gravy, but I decided to try this recipe. DELICIOUS AND SO TENDER. I may make the traditional type of dish as a change, but this is definitely going to be my favorite way to prepare liver and onions. I did make a few changes due to using what I had on hand: Used can of tomato soup and 1/4 cup water (misread the recipe). I mince/freeze 2 onions to a quart bag, so I used a bag of minced onions. Didn't have oregano, but substituted Italian seasoning and added 1/2 tsp of garlic powder. I told my husband that we were having ITALIAN BEEF LIVER. He also loved the flavor and tenderness of the liver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galena Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was great. I have always been afraid to make liver though I do enjoy it in restaurants. I decided to give this a try. The liver came out great and on par with anything I would get out. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States