Smothered Bacon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was one of the easiest and the best recipes I have ever tried. I did take a few suggestions from the other reviews, cut up green pepper and onion and placed in the bottom of the dish before the chicken. I had some problems with the bacon, and will tweak that a little on the next try. The bacon was not close to being done after and hour of baking, and where the bacon was wrapped around the chicken, in those places the chicken was not done, I had to take the bacon off completely and finish baking. I think crumbled bacon would work better! Great recipe tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I will make this one again! Very tasty! I cooked some bacon up before hand. Sauteed some onion and garlic in the same pan, mixed in sour cream/soup mixture, and baked the chicken in the mixture. I broke the bacon up over the chicken when it was done so it was crispy, not soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was a great recipe, however, I definitely think you should pre-cook your bacon, or cook it up and crumble it into the sauce mixture. The bacon didn't really cook in the oven and was too soft and tasteless. I added green onion, lots of garlic, salt, pepper, and about 2 cups of parmesan cheese to the recipe. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Good! Make sure if you like your bacon cooked, to cook it! I added onions and peppers to the bottom, also used less sour cream. Added alittle mozzerella to the top, along with some bacon toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
The recipe is pretty good as is, but I felt it needed something else. Next time I'll rub the bacon with brown sugar and pepper as others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
My husband and I just loved this, and so simple ! I changed it adding 8 oz cream cheese, 8oz of sour cream, 1/2 can of corn and some leftover mozarella and parmesan cheese. I added one pouch of the always delicious Patrick Cudahy bacon bits (apple smoked yum) and it was most delicious. The chicken was so moist and it made for some wonderful left overs !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puertorican Cheesehead

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
my wife has never been a fan of chicken until i cooked this one night and know it is her favorite have to cook it once a week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
YUM, YUM, YUM! the only thing i did just a little different was i used a can of cream of chicken and mushroom soup, i added minced garlic to the soup mixture and i also partially precooked the bacon. i also greased my pan with some of the bacon grease and put down a layer of sliced onions before i put the chicken in the pan. i will DEFINITELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princeslani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Good recipe... almost like my mom used to make, except she put in a layer of dried beef in the chicken. For those who also don't like the flabbiness of bacon strips, either microwave the bacon slightly, or do what I do, and use the "pre-cooked" bacon available now... it's more expensive, but much crispier and less fat than the uncooked version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Absolutley delicious! Definitley pre-cook the bacon some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States