Smothered Bacon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
We had this dish for dinner tonight. At the end of a day at work this was a breeze to put together. Once it was in the oven I could relax. I made some slight changes based on reviews: cooked bacon first, cut into small pieces and mixed with the soup mixture. Sauteed a few mushrooms and topped the dish with them towards the end of the cooking time. I decreased the sour cream by half. Made some of these changes for ease and to cut back on fat. Went over well and was very easy. Might be a good dish with meatballs made with ground chicken or turkey. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Cooked it exactly the way the recipe said and it was amazing! LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Used light sour cream, reduced fat soup and thick bacon which was on hand. Husband loved this recipe. Microwaved the bacon slices one minute (1 slice for each chicken piece) before cooking, not quite enough time as I needed to zap it a bit at the end also. With regular bacon I think that would work okay though and that's probably what I will do again. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
WOW this was wonderful,I think next time I will cut back on the bacon a little, but the chicken was tender and the sauce over noodles was great. I will be making this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
WOW!!! I really really liked this chicken. Hubby did too. Served it over rice. So easy. Thanks for the recipe. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huzzer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I have made this dish for many years I add dried chipped beef to layer the bottom and a cup or so of sliced mushrooms to it My family loves this dish and loves it the next day if there are leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
this is a good recipe except, i would use half a can of evaporated milk, or half & half, instead of sour cream. it would taste good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I have made this for years, but the way that I do it is I put a layer on the bottom of chopped ham and refig overnight, it's best slower and lower. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I've made this for years, but use cream of chicken soup mixed with the sour cream, and we cook it on 250 for three hours, everything melts in your mouth. I've turned up the temp and done it in an hour, which is just fine, but its not the same as doing it the "long" way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daizy7155

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This is a similar recipe that has been around for years and is a favorite in our family. I rate this recipe a 5 star with these changes. First, either cook the bacon almost completely done but still a little limp or use the pre-cooked new bacon on the market. Split the chicken breast, wrap a dried beef sliver on the top and bottom of the chicken and the wrap one piece of bacon around the chicken. The dried beef really adds to the dish. Combine the sour cream and the soup together with about 1/4 cup of white wine, top chicken with 1/2 the mixture and bake on 425 degrees for 15 minutes and then reduce to 325 degrees for 30 to 45 minutes depending on the thickness of your chicken. The top of the chicken should be brown. Heat the remaining sauce on the stove and serve as the side sauce for the chicken, rice, potatoes, pasta, etc. I also add garlic and mushrooms sometimes. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States