Smothered Bacon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
after reading some of the reviews, I made some changes. I sprinkled the chicken (I used 5 tenders) with garlic powder first. I pre-cooked the bacon part-way in the microwave, then liberally added brown sugar and black pepper, wrapping one slice of bacon around each tender. Covered with the sauce, baked 35 minutes at 350, then another 15 minutes at 400. My husband and I both liked it, but I got tired of the taste. It's also more of a cold-weather comfort food, so I think I'll try it in the fall, and maybe in the crockpot as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
My husband and I do not like cream of mushroom soup, so I subbed in cream of chicken and lite sour cream. Served with rice=yum. My husband thought the bacon squishy and gross so if that kind of texture bothers you, maybe cook the bacon separately and crumble on top (or something).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I substitute cream of chicken soup with herbs for the cream of mushroom, and it's great! It's a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I double the recipe and then realized I didn't have two cans of mushroom soup. So I used a can of cream of chicken and cream of mushroom. I didn't double the sour cream. Used a little over half of a 16oz container. I put mushrooms on the bottom of my pan and then the wrapped chicken on top. I did like others and cooked my bacon a little before wrapping. Was excellent. I also added a little garlic and onion powder. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I haven't tried this yet, but according to my 3 year old who's eating it in front of me (the most picky eater on the face of the planet), this is DEEEE-LISHUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This is easy and my family loved it. Had to sub Cream of Chicken soup, but was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
YOU ABSOLUTELY MUST COOK THE BACON BEFORE COOKING; IF YOU DO NOT COOK IT, THE RAW BACON WILL NOT BE DONE IN 45MIN & THE WHOLE DISH WILL NEED TO BE SCRAPPED BECAUSE IT SURROUNDS THE CHICKEN!!! COOKERS BEWARE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Really enjoyed this. Hubby really liked it. I served over egg noodles and topped with crunchy bacon and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
the flavor was good but the bacon had the texture of not cooked... EW. :/ maybe frying the bacon and crumbling it on top wouuld be better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Have made this twice once as written which was good but 2nd time is was wonderful. I Used 'tropicanna' suggestions. Like how bacon was fully cooked & crunched, also sauted mushrooms in some of bacon grease till brown, it was awesome. We will be making this many more times in future! Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States