Smothered Bacon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This was a delicious meal!!! I added some freeze-dried chives to the sauce before popping it in the oven and wow! Thanx for the awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
I give this 5 stars because of the base idea to work with. I use precooked bacon that I bake to make crunchy and crumble that up and mix into the sour cream/soup base. I also add cooking white wine, real garlic, mustard, Old Bay Spice, and any real non-processed cheese I have on hand like old chedder/parmesan/asiago. I mix until smooth then pour over chicken. I then finish with a sprinkle over top of Old Bay Spice and a bit of cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXFIRE2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Digby, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
very delicious. first time trying. Altered it a bit. Add garlic to the mixture, stuffed chicken with garlic. baked for 30 minutes, broiled for 10 minutes and topped with colby shreeded cheese and parsley. Served with brown rice. New favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
this is a very delicious meal! my family loved it so much! i did put brown sugar and pepper on the bacon before wrapping it on the chicken. Also, i only put 2/3 cups of sour cream and after the 40 min, 350 degrees cooking i did baked it at 400 degrees for 10 more mins as suggested in the reviews... it turned out really good! if you prefer a cripy bacon, i suggest you put the bacon-wrapped chicken, without the sauce,in the microwave for 2.5 minutes or more, depending on how crispy you want it and they serve it with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
very good, the bacon adds a really nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I was out of cream of mushroom soup so used cream of chicken. It looked like way too much sauce. I think it would have been better for 4 chicken breasts instead of only 2. Followed other suggestions to turn on the broiler for the last several minutes. Very easy and wonderfully tasty. Good, moist chicken ~ yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NORTHWESTMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I loved this recipe. I added cream of chicken soup instead of cream of mushroom. I also cooked it about 20 minutes longer until the bacon was crisp on the top. It is delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I found the chicken to be bland, and could have been seasoned more. I put it over brown rice and the sauce was very good with that. I also recommend cooking the bacon first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Very tasty. I basically followed the recipe and added some thyme. My kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Oh my goodness, I can not express how good this was and easy! 4 total ingredients! It was very flavorful and juicy. I just seasoned it with a little salt (remember the bacon will add some salt flavor also so be careful, fresh ground pepper, and a little bit of thyme leaves. I served it with some wild rice, green beans, and biscuits. Excellent dish will make again and again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States