Smothered Bacon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Loved this recipe. I used 4 oz. of sour cream like everyone said and I thought it was perfect. I also substituted the 10oz of soup for half cream of chicken and half cream of mushroom, and I added a little bit of grated parmesan to the soup. If you don't cook the bacon around the chicken, the sauce won't have the bacon flavor in it. I thought it made a lot of extra sauce, so I would serve this with noodles or rice. Very quick and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This was good because it was very quick to throw together and most of these things are already in the pantry. My husband and son loved it, I thought something was missing. Will keep and make again, I added mushrooms like others suggested and my bacon was pre-cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA
Living In: Argyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Very easy and delicious! I layered the bacon one slice on top and one on the bottom and secured with toothpicks to the soup and sour cream mix I added 1 clove minced garlic, parm. cheese and white pepper. Served over egg noodles with cheese bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBOEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This was a good recipe. Used what I had avail as substitution (cream of onion, chicken breast tenders). Will be better with cream of chicken or mushroom instead. I had to cook mine a bit longer by about 10 mins.. The chicken wasn't done enough. Very good. I made noodles, was hoping for extra sauce, but there isn't much extra, so don't count on that. Hubby liked it and it was easy. Not too strong of a sour cream taste either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lainey Dru

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Sooo good! I added a couple of things. I sprinkled the chicken with garlic powder before wrapping the bacon around the breasts. Once it was finished cooking, I placed each breast on a plate and topped the chicken with a slice of swiss cheese. I zapped it in the microwave for 30 seconds, just long enough to melt the cheese. My family really enjoyed this tonight! I will keep this in the rotation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I added a couple of ingredients and modified it, and it was delicious. I cooked the chicken in the oven with the soup and sour cream mix. In a skillet, I cooked a little butter, yellow onion, bacon pieces, and fresh mushrooms, which I topped the chicken with. We love freh mushrooms, so they were a must, and cooking the bacon this way got it crispy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Made this for the first time and even the picky kids ate it up. Followed Angi's advice in her post below, and it came out great! The only thing I did differently (besides the variations Angi suggested) is use Cambell's Cream of Chicken AND Mushroom soup which boosted the flavor of the sauce even more. Thanks for the recipe and all the tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I made this recipe for Sunday dinner. I found that the bacon didn't crisp up and eating the fat off the bacon wasn't appealing. Need to figure out how to crisp up the bacon. I think I would make it wrapped with ham a lean bacon might be better. It is easy and something I would make again. I also added garlic to the recipe. I think using a brand name soup, which I did, makes a difference in the flavor of sauce. I made ahead and had in the refrig overnight to bake the next day, so that was a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I did the angie way and it was AWESOME!! I would so make it again!! My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marysville, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This is great! Another recipe that is often requested. I will add this to my list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States