Smothered Bacon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I made this because the other reviews were so great. I don't get it! It was not good! My husband really didn't like it! Neither did I! The bacon was chewy the chicken flavorless and the sauce watery. Terrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I just made this today, and I am quite impressed. I wasn't so sure about the cream of mushroom soup, but wow. Yum. This is like mushroom-and-bacon-goodness with the chicken just being the vehicle. I did use tips from other reviewers - put pepper and onion on the chicken, and pre-cooked the bacon a bit, and actually used light sour cream. I also put some fresh mushrooms around the chicken before pouring sauce. Definitely serve over egg noodles. Yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This was probably a 3 1/2 * for me. I did not make this exactly as written only because I didn't have COM and used cream of chicken instead along with a small can of drained, diced chiles for a little extra flare. The chicken was tender, the sauce tasted good, and was quick to put together. I pounded the chicken down and cut each breast into two, based on personal preference. I had to bake longer than the recipe recommends (about 10-15 minutes) before the chicken was done. I think the major turn off was the under cooked bacon. I like my bacon somewhere between chewy and crispy. I would have considered microwaving the bacon a bit prior to baking, as other reviewers mentioned, however; that reduces the bacony flavor. Bacon usually takes about 20 minutes in the oven alone. Next time I may try this recipe and bake the chicken and bacon about 15-20 minutes before topping with the sauce mixture. I think the chicken would still be tender because it would be baking in the chicken and bacon juices for just a short period of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
My husband LOVED this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nogales, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I subsituted the bacon with turkey bacon and used plain fat free yogurt instead of the sour cream. This makes the chicken sweeter and juicer, and not as heavy. I love this recipe and so does my 15 year old picky eater sister!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal Jeanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
My family LOVED this. I made it for 8 and changed it up a little bit. I used one large can of cream of mushroom soup and two 10.75 cans of cream of mushroom with garlic. We are a family who loves our garlic. This came out wonderful! Not too much garlic and not too little. I also bought 2 lbs thick bacon from the meat market and fried that up. Instead of wrapping the chicken I crumbled the bacon in with the soup mixture. I served this over mashed yukon gold and red potatoes. It was wonderful!!! Will make this many more times!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ImACornFlakeGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essexville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lebanon Junction, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Definately a keeper! My family loved it. I would suggest that you either pound the chicken breast to make them thinner or split them. Some fresh grilled mushrooms were a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Love this recipe. I used milk instead of sourcream, cause I did not have any sourcream, but it worked great. My hubbie gave me a compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
AMAZINGLY EASY AND GOOD. My boyfriend is sooooo super picky and he loved this. I didn't change not one thing about this and it turned out perfect, will make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This had really good flavor, but I just couldn't get over the bites of bacon that were really limp, for lack of a better word. I precooked the bacon for a minute in the microwave, then wrapped around the chicken. The texture of uncrisped bacon is really unappealing to me. I loved the flavors and how moist the chicken was though. I put sliced mushrooms on the bottom of the dish, then the chicken, then covered in the sauce. Served over egg noodles. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States