Smothered Bacon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I just made this today, and I am quite impressed. I wasn't so sure about the cream of mushroom soup, but wow. Yum. This is like mushroom-and-bacon-goodness with the chicken just being the vehicle. I did use tips from other reviewers - put pepper and onion on the chicken, and pre-cooked the bacon a bit, and actually used light sour cream. I also put some fresh mushrooms around the chicken before pouring sauce. Definitely serve over egg noodles. Yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This was probably a 3 1/2 * for me. I did not make this exactly as written only because I didn't have COM and used cream of chicken instead along with a small can of drained, diced chiles for a little extra flare. The chicken was tender, the sauce tasted good, and was quick to put together. I pounded the chicken down and cut each breast into two, based on personal preference. I had to bake longer than the recipe recommends (about 10-15 minutes) before the chicken was done. I think the major turn off was the under cooked bacon. I like my bacon somewhere between chewy and crispy. I would have considered microwaving the bacon a bit prior to baking, as other reviewers mentioned, however; that reduces the bacony flavor. Bacon usually takes about 20 minutes in the oven alone. Next time I may try this recipe and bake the chicken and bacon about 15-20 minutes before topping with the sauce mixture. I think the chicken would still be tender because it would be baking in the chicken and bacon juices for just a short period of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
My husband LOVED this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nogales, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I subsituted the bacon with turkey bacon and used plain fat free yogurt instead of the sour cream. This makes the chicken sweeter and juicer, and not as heavy. I love this recipe and so does my 15 year old picky eater sister!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
My family LOVED this. I made it for 8 and changed it up a little bit. I used one large can of cream of mushroom soup and two 10.75 cans of cream of mushroom with garlic. We are a family who loves our garlic. This came out wonderful! Not too much garlic and not too little. I also bought 2 lbs thick bacon from the meat market and fried that up. Instead of wrapping the chicken I crumbled the bacon in with the soup mixture. I served this over mashed yukon gold and red potatoes. It was wonderful!!! Will make this many more times!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ImACornFlakeGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essexville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lebanon Junction, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Definately a keeper! My family loved it. I would suggest that you either pound the chicken breast to make them thinner or split them. Some fresh grilled mushrooms were a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Love this recipe. I used milk instead of sourcream, cause I did not have any sourcream, but it worked great. My hubbie gave me a compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
AMAZINGLY EASY AND GOOD. My boyfriend is sooooo super picky and he loved this. I didn't change not one thing about this and it turned out perfect, will make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This had really good flavor, but I just couldn't get over the bites of bacon that were really limp, for lack of a better word. I precooked the bacon for a minute in the microwave, then wrapped around the chicken. The texture of uncrisped bacon is really unappealing to me. I loved the flavors and how moist the chicken was though. I put sliced mushrooms on the bottom of the dish, then the chicken, then covered in the sauce. Served over egg noodles. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
My husband loved this dish. I served it over rice and with corn. I liked it also, I was just a little afraid that my chicken wasn't going to get done. and i got a little too much cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States