S'mores Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I love this! This is a good way to get the taste of smores when you don't have a fire to roast your marshmallows. Next week I'm going to quadruple the recipe and take them to a tailgate party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cairo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Big Hit at my son's school party. Several parents asked me for the recipe. I put all of the graham cracker mixture on the bottom of the pan, and just topped it with the marshmallows and chocolate chips. I used milk chocolate instead of semi-sweet. I cooled them in the fridge, and then cut them into perfect squares! Excellent treat and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
These were very good. the only issue I had with this recipe is that I had to double the grahm cracker mix in order to get enough to cover the entire bottom and top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
These bars were such a hit at work, I didn't get a chance to try one. Several people asked me for the recipe. So quick and easy too. I doubled the graham/sugar/butter mixture per others' posts. I also made my own crumbs so I could have some bigger pieces of graham cracker. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
I, too, put all of the graham cracker mixture on the bottom, but did have to add a little more melted butter to make it hold together better. Then I just loaded all the marshmallows and chocolate chips on top that I could. They were delicious and disappeared fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fruitland, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Delicious and really easy. I also crushed up graham crackers in order to add some texture. To have enough crackers I crushed 4 packs (about 1.3 boxes worth). I increased the margarine slightly to 7/8 cup at the other reviewer's suggestion and it worked great. I used semi-sweet mini chips and they seemed fill in the little gaps between marshmallows really well. I took them to a 'campfire' themed potluck at work and I proceeded to get email requests for the recipe for 3 days afterward. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I've been on a baking marathon all night for a bake sale today! Made these about 2 am...following recipe exactly as submitted. There was not enough graham crumbs left to cover the top completely, so the marshmallow and chocolate bubbled up to the top. Not really a big deal, but it made it difficult to press the top down firmly when removed from the oven, because it was so sticky. I lined my pan with parchment paper, so that I could just lift the paper out of the pan when cooled. Flipped it over and peeled the paper off, then cut into squares. Worked like a charm, but it did smoke a little while baking, so keep a window open..lol. We all tried a sample before packing and it wasn't a smash hit in my house. Hubby says too much chocolate compared to marshmallow, and kids say they are tooo gooey. I like them, but thought they could use a little less chocolate as well as a thicker crumb bottom. Might make again, but would definetly use more graham crumbs and a little less chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dakotaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K-Dub
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
These were a little too chewy for us. My boyfriend said I should add more graham cracker crust to it but he just wasn't very excited about these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I'm not sure what happened but my "crust" never did set so mine couldn't really be considered bars. I followed the directions exactly. They tasted great and filled my craving for S'mores! Next time I will try prebaking the crust before topping with the marshmallows and chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States