S'mores Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
A little messy and hard to cut but worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Gardiner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I love s'mores, and was somewhat but not completely satisfied with this bar. I used an 8x8 pan, line with aluminum foil and lightly greased to help with the sticking and removal. It was so much easier to just lift and cut. I also only used a stick of butter (1/2c). I would cut the amount of sugar in the crust in half if you aren't much of a sweet tooth. I only had one bag of chips, which is only 2 cups, so I just made do. It was more than plenty. This was my layering system: 3/4 of graham cracker mix, all but a handful of chocolate chips, as many marshmallows that would form a single layer in the pan, sprinkled with left over chips, then pressed the rest of the graham cracker crumbs on top. The marshmallows started browning after 10 min, I cooked for 11. Put in the freezer/fridge to help cool and harden. I was afraid of not cooking the crust first, and I would def cook it first next time, before adding the chips and marshmallows. Then put it back in to melt the chips and marshmallows. It wasn't very crunchy, more soggy, on the bottom. I tried these hot and cold, and actually preferred cold smores for once in my life. UPDATE: I just made these with 1/8 c sugar in the crust and they were excellent. Sweet enough, but not killer sweet. I also prebaked my crust, and it didn't make that much of a difference in texture, so I will skip that next time. I only used 1/2 c butter the first time i made these, and the crust was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katiecanbake
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
These are SO easy to make, and are a huge hit. They can be rich, but are tasty. I normally do Hershey bars instead of chocolate chips but both work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Super fast and easy and taste great! Next time I will either use a smaller pan (9x9) or make more of the crumb mixture. Mine turned out very thin and hard to keep together when cutting. Everyone really enjoyed them so I will try again with a couple of small adjustments. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
These were so so yummy and even easier to make. I made extra graham crakcer crumb mixture the second time I made them. Also, after they are cooled and cut, warming up in microwave on low for a short amount of time, melts the chocolate and marshamllows just enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maywood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is so yummy everytime. We only use half the grams for the crust, then just mix the marshmallow, choco chips, and grams in a bowl and press into the pan. We also turn the broiler on 2-3 minutes to toast the marshmallows on top! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Yum! Followed the recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyMTeets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrill, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Pretty good, except that the crumbs on top made it seem a little dry, especially on the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
So simple to make and extremely awesome to eat! I use cinnamon graham crackers to give it that extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellmawr, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I liked this, but thought the sugar in the crust made it overly sweet, next time I'll reduce the sugar some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States