S'mores Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Another 10 stars.....everyone raved over these simple yet delicious bars. Yes, a little messy.....but so worth it. I made these the day before my party and left them out at room temp covered with plastic wrap. I thought that refrigerating them would really harden the marshmallow...so glad I followed my instinct. Did not change a thing, I think the key it to really press down on the cooked bars when they come out of the oven to get them to stick together. These cut nicely the next day and were amazingly good. Will make again and kids and adults loved them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I made the recipe as written and it didn't work for me. There's not enough of the graham cracker crumb to cover the bottom of the dish. Plus the recipe says "Remove from the oven and immediately press top firmly with spatula." That was a huge mistake. Everything stuck to the spatula and the chocolate and marshmallow turned into a big mess. I took them to a friend's house. Everyone tried them, but no one said they were good. I'll stick to making my indoor smores under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheddabizcuit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I made this last night and they were super easy. I cut the recipe to make 12 servings instead of 36 since it's just myself and my boyfriend in the house. I did what others did and used whole graham crackers and beat them with a rolling pin to make largish crumbs. The only thing I noticed was that I didn't have enough to make thicker bars, they were more like a bark. So next time I will use more graham crackers and more butter and I'm sure they'll be perfect. Otherwise, as is, they are great and my boyfriend scarfed down 3 bars just in the first few minutes of taking them out of the fridge. For a quick sweet tooth satisfier, these are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
These were good right out of the oven, but great the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was heaven!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
great recipe! super easy! great recipe to make with the kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I made half the recipe, but used kept the Graham crackers the same. I made them in my silicone pan, and when they came out of the oven I placed them in the fridge. They came out beautifully! What a treat! Great for a s'mores craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I like smores and seen this and decided to try it. Unfortunately, mine never came together like a bar. It was like buttered graham crumbs and melted chocolate. Most of the marshmallow melted too much to even be tasted just making the pile of chocolaty crumbs more sweet! I would have been better off to just make smores under the broiler like I had thought of doing. Luckily, I only did a half a recipe, but I am still not sure what to do with it now. It is too messy and overly sweet to eat as a bowl of crumbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Just like on the fire. But mine keep sticking to the pan. Just haven't mastered that part yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I made this for company and it got all eaten up! I put about 2/3 of the crumb crust on bottom and the other third on top. I agree with other reviewers who suggested adding more butter to the crust. It was a little too crumbly for me. However, they still tasted very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States