S'mores Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Very quick and easy recipe! It was extremely rich! After cooking I let it cool in the refrigerator to let the crust set and then I cut into bars. It was good but not sure I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I made these bars last night after reading a few reviews. I placed a piece of parchment paper in the bottom of the pan to make them easier to remove from the pan. I did use precrushed graham crackers because I had some I wanted to use up and the only real graham crackers I had were cinnamon flavored (didn't reallly want to use those for this recipe and wasn't sure if I would get three cups out of what I had left in the box). I did double the crust recipe as per some reviewers suggestions and I love crust, totally not necessary as it was too much overpowering the flavor of anything else. Next time I will use real graham crackers and crush them myself as the precrushed does make the bars seem dry (even though I added a little bit more butter and slightly more sugar). I pressed the crust down on the bottom layer firmly and it stayed intact for me. I also placed some of the graham cracker mix on top, next time I won't as I would like to have all the marshmallows exposed to brown them a little more. I used milk chocolate chips as I only have ghiradelli chips in the house right now (both semi-sweet and milk chocolate) and the semi-sweet ghiradelli can be a bit strong. The milk chocolate chips were just fine and not too sweet for us perhaps because I may not have had quite 3 cups of marshmallows (I had an open bag that was a little more than half gone that I used up for this recipe). Overall a great recipe and I think I will just make as directed next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIA_26

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
OMG, these were so good! I didnt use the entire 2 cups of choco chips and still found it to be fine. i kinda just eye balled the marshmallos and choco chips. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Awesome and so easy. Easy to adapt for my milk, egg, and peanut allergic DS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
These bars are awesome! I did make a couple of changes so that the eye appeal of these bars would be better. First of all, I used only 2 cups of graham cracker crumbs, and cut the butter down to 1/2 cup, and the sugar to 1/4 cup. I pressed all but about 1/2 cup of the crumbs onto the bottom of my foil lined pan (I used the foil to make "handles" that make it easy to take the bars out of the pan, which allows cleaner, more even cutting) then sprinkled with the chocolate chips ( a combination of milk and semisweet) and put the marshmallows on top of that. I sprinkled the remaining 1/2 cup of crumbs on top. I baked these about 5 minutes longer than stated, because I wanted the marshmallows to get a bit browned and crispy. I'm glad I did, because it made cutting them a lot easier. I didn't press the bars down upon removing from the oven because I didn't have that big crumb layer on top. The finished bars were a big hit...they were super yummy and everyone liked them! They are a bit messy, but who cares? Thanks for sharing the recipe...it is super simple and fun! I'll be making these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
These are so fast, easy and yummy!!! This is a perfect go-to recipe when you need something sweet but don't have a lot of time. I have made this twice now, and the only changes I made were to use about another half cup of graham cracker crumbs, put 2/3 of the crumb mixture on the bottom and sprinkle 1/3 on the top, and I used a mixture of semi-sweet and milk chocolate chips. Everyone really likes this, and they are rich enough that a little goes a long way. The first time I made them, they cut into bars fairly well. For some reason, last night, they were softer and needed to be eaten with a spoon. Either way was fine by us! Thanks for the recipe--this would be perfect to take to a barbeque or picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This was AMAZING! I made the recipe as written, and these bars are scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Ooey Gooey Goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
These are excellent as written. I agree with the over reviews, crush your own graham crackers. That's how I made mine and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
These were great for my sons school. The kids ate them up. I had to make a second batch for the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tatum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States