S'more Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
This recipe was disappointing and I'm not really sure why since it sounds so good. The marshmallows puffed up nicely while baking but then fell flat as they cooled - you can hardly tell that there is marshmallow on it. The chocolate didn't really melt a whole lot, it just kind of hardened. I am going to try this recipe again and make a few modifications. I may try the marshmallow cream instead and maybe grate the chocolate and use large graham cracker crumbs instead of the big pieces. I won't bake the brownies with the topping on them as long either, maybe that's what happened to this batch. Good idea for a recipe, I hope that I can make it work next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
I made these for a BBQ this week and everyone LOVED them. I ended up using a little more "toppings" (chocolate, graham crackers and marshmallows) than the recipe called for and they were great. Next time I might use even more marshmallow, since that seemed to be the best part. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2001
I loved this recipe, but made a few changes: Instead of using a packaged brownie mix, I used my own brownie-from-scratch recipe...and I added the topping after about 25 minutes of baking, so it went back in the oven for only about 10 minutes. This made the marshmallows puff up and turn crispy (but not melt into oblivion)...the chocolate pieces get soft but retain their shape. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
I first made this for my family and it was a big hit. Then made it for friends, they couldn't get enough. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
I have made this several times and there is never enough to go around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
I agree with Mary Jo Wikle. I was also disappointed in this recipes. It sounds wonderful and perhaps I am doing something wrong, but I had the same problems as to not enough marshmellows, candy did not melt, and the graham crackers in 1 inch pieces made it very difficult to cut. Also, the cooking time after adding the toppings is too long. Mine almost burned. I will try this one more time with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
Great recipe Lisa ! Many friends I have passed it on to love it as well. I use chocolate morsels, Nestles or Hershey's and cinnamon grahams. I throw some toffee chips into the batter. It is gooey but oh so yummy. No one can get enough. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
I think this recipe has a lot of potential. Next time I will increase the time to bake the brownie only. I think next time I will break the graham crackers smaller than 1". Overall, a VERY simple and good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I agree with other reviews. The idea sounds great but the toppings go on too soon and then almost burn. The graham crackers make it really hard to cut. Smaller pieces would be better. But, I'm not ready to give up on this recipe yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manheim, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
Hi, I submitted this recipe. When I made it recently, I realized that this really should be cooled overnight before cutting or it turns into a big blob. Frankly, I cannot understand the difficulty people have had with this recipe--it bewilders me! Add the toppings in the last 10 minutes if you find they burn (and get an oven thermometer to make sure your oven is accurate). Break the graham crackers smaller for easier cutting. This is not rocket science people!!! (as Emeril would say!). My favorite recipe of all-time is my Yummy Yam Casserole, also on this site. My friends beg me to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States