S'More Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
These are fast, easy and a bake-sale hit! (Thanks & YUM!) Timesaving Tip: Skip the extra step (and clean-up) of melting the chocolate chips. . .just spread an even layer of chips directly on the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
These were amazing. I liked this recipe because it didn't add anything unnecessary. They taste just like smores.....soooo good. I made two batches for a event, and I didn't bring home one single scrap. I used mini chocolate chips, and it worked great, but going to try this time with melted chocolate. Don't be tempted to use more chocolate than called for, it will through off the balance. Yum...you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
These are very rich and tasty. If you are eating them after they have cooled, there are much better after 30 seconds or so in the microwave so they are gooey. Based on several comments, I tried cutting the amount of butter in the crust in half. The crust did not harden, so I ended up with a bunch of graham cracker crumbs loose in the bottom of the pan when I cut up the bars. Next time, I will try again with the full amount of butter indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I made this recipe for my husband (who loves s'mores). I halved the recipe and used a 9x9 dish. It was fantastic warm and gooey out of the oven and really good cooled. My husband and I both prefer it warm so we nuke it for 20 seconds before eating. It was very quick and easy to make (only a few minutes of prep) even though I had to crush the crackers. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of milk chocolate and it was wonderful. I also added a little sugar to the graham cracker crumbs and butter mixture to make it a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
These are really tasty bar cookies. I used a 12 ounce bag of milk choc chips instead of the candy bars, worked great. Definitely refrigerate pan before attempting to cut. I made these for a school function, and I had compliments from adults & children! The best comment I heard was "ohh, these look homemade, I want one of these"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
YUMMM..My five year old daughter and I just finished these, so fun and so easy. We just put the candy bars on the bottom layer, topped with marshmallows then graham cracker topping, but it all in the oven and baked. No need to melt chocolate first. These are good warm and gooey, can't wait till the kids get home from school to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
my changes: -only 1 cup of butter -put the whole graham cracker mixture on the bottom (of a cookie sheet, needs to be a little deep) -spread chocolate chips over and put it in the oven for 5 minutes to melt a little -spread mini marshmallows over the top and cooked for the allotted 15 minutes. in retrospect i'll only do 10 as the marshmallows turned out too crispy/a little hard these are super delicious and might even be better than the real thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
The graham crackers seems a little overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I made these just because I had everything on hand. No regrets. I haven't tried them cooled yet, but they are very tasty warm and gooey. I followed the suggestion of a previous review and put chocolate chips directly on top of the crust without melting them first. Worked out great and less mess to clean up. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
These are great! Tasty and so easy. My kids and I made them last night for my son's birthday treat for school today. I added 1/3 cup of sugar to the graham cracker mix. There's a lot of butter and I think that I will cut back on butter the next time. We used a small (11 oz., I think) bag of milk chocolate chips layered over the crust (not melted), followed by 2-3 cups of mini marshmallows then the rest of the crust mix. It took about 20 minutes to bake, not 15- I kept them in until the marshmallow around the edges just began to brown. Let them cool and cut them. Covered them overnight and served them today and all the kids (and the teacher) LOVED them. There were soft and chewy. Will definitely make these many more times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States