Smooth and Creamy Peanut Butter Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This recipe is awesome! It's got the least ingredients of all the other pies I looked at, and it is SO easy to make. I made it exact the first time, my family said it was "too sweet". (As if there were such a thing...but they are not that into sweets & when they do have them, they tend to think they have more sweetness than other people.) When I made it a second time, I cut the amount of sugar in half. Still "too sweet" for some family. I cut the sugar all the way down to 1/3 cup. Just right for them. AND, it still tastes sweet to those who DO eat sweets a lot & like the sweetness. I also changed from regular peanut butter to "natural" peanut butter on the most recent pie...and I think that toned some of the sweet down also. The *only* reason I changed the sugar amount originally was b/c of my family. I love the original...and I like the less sugar versions I made also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
This is outstanding. My family asks for it all the time. A variation is: instead of peanut butter, use Nutella (a hazelnut-chocolate spread) ooo boy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Heavenly! It is very smooth and creamy tasting. I make this according to the directions and I top mine with whip cream, chocolate and caramel syrup and crushed Reeses cups. You can also store this in the freezer. It won;t freeze solid, it just stays firm and cold and it is best eaten when it is firm and cold, I highly recommend trying it. I accidently discovered it and now I store mine in the freezer all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This pie tastes impressive for very little work! Taking other reviewer's advice, I used 1 cup pb, 8 oz cream cheese, and 1 cup regular sugar--SO GOOD! UPDATE: for a really delicious twist, try adding slice bananas to this pie--I put them in the crust before adding the pb filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This was pretty good, but I have another recipe from this sight that my family likes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollys Taylor Made Treats

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Attica, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
WOW! that's all I can say really. I used an oreo crust and I drizzled chocolate syrup individually on each slice and it turned out to be fantastic. It was a little hard to mix the peanut butter, confectioner's sugar, and cream cheese together by hand, but boy was it worth it. I don't hand out 5-star ratings frivolously, but this one really deserves it! If I make it again I will experiment with different toppings. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
Made this pie for a pie auction and it was a hit! Drizzled Hershey's chocolate syrup over the filling and crumbled Reese's candy bar on top. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hesston, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fairbury, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kerstin
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
WOW! This is wonderful! It isn't heavy like some PB pies are. It's very light and airy and doesn't make you feel overly full. I took advice from MySweetCreations and added chopped up Reese's and Chocolate Syrup. I picked up the 8oz CoolWhip and didn't realize until I was making it that I was short 4oz. It didn't matter, everything still turned out and it was gobbled up at Thanksgiving! I will be making this many more times. Thanks for the great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerstin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Only improvements I made to the recipe were to use real whipped cream (1 cup whipping cream plus 3 Tb powdered sugar, whipped until stiff) in place of the Cool Whip, which always imparts an artificial taste, and add 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. With the real cream, this was sublime! I topped with chocolate syrup and quartered peanut butter cups. Easy, but fabulous flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This was very easy and tasty! I made for Easter and everyone loved it. The only change I made was to add a little more peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Pie

Check out this no-bake, icebox pie!

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie

This pie is rich and creamy, and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States