Smooth and Creamy Peanut Butter Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This recipe is awesome! It's got the least ingredients of all the other pies I looked at, and it is SO easy to make. I made it exact the first time, my family said it was "too sweet". (As if there were such a thing...but they are not that into sweets & when they do have them, they tend to think they have more sweetness than other people.) When I made it a second time, I cut the amount of sugar in half. Still "too sweet" for some family. I cut the sugar all the way down to 1/3 cup. Just right for them. AND, it still tastes sweet to those who DO eat sweets a lot & like the sweetness. I also changed from regular peanut butter to "natural" peanut butter on the most recent pie...and I think that toned some of the sweet down also. The *only* reason I changed the sugar amount originally was b/c of my family. I love the original...and I like the less sugar versions I made also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
This is outstanding. My family asks for it all the time. A variation is: instead of peanut butter, use Nutella (a hazelnut-chocolate spread) ooo boy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Heavenly! It is very smooth and creamy tasting. I make this according to the directions and I top mine with whip cream, chocolate and caramel syrup and crushed Reeses cups. You can also store this in the freezer. It won;t freeze solid, it just stays firm and cold and it is best eaten when it is firm and cold, I highly recommend trying it. I accidently discovered it and now I store mine in the freezer all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This pie tastes impressive for very little work! Taking other reviewer's advice, I used 1 cup pb, 8 oz cream cheese, and 1 cup regular sugar--SO GOOD! UPDATE: for a really delicious twist, try adding slice bananas to this pie--I put them in the crust before adding the pb filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This was pretty good, but I have another recipe from this sight that my family likes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollys Taylor Made Treats

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Attica, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
WOW! that's all I can say really. I used an oreo crust and I drizzled chocolate syrup individually on each slice and it turned out to be fantastic. It was a little hard to mix the peanut butter, confectioner's sugar, and cream cheese together by hand, but boy was it worth it. I don't hand out 5-star ratings frivolously, but this one really deserves it! If I make it again I will experiment with different toppings. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
Made this pie for a pie auction and it was a hit! Drizzled Hershey's chocolate syrup over the filling and crumbled Reese's candy bar on top. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hesston, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fairbury, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kerstin
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
WOW! This is wonderful! It isn't heavy like some PB pies are. It's very light and airy and doesn't make you feel overly full. I took advice from MySweetCreations and added chopped up Reese's and Chocolate Syrup. I picked up the 8oz CoolWhip and didn't realize until I was making it that I was short 4oz. It didn't matter, everything still turned out and it was gobbled up at Thanksgiving! I will be making this many more times. Thanks for the great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerstin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This was very easy and tasty! I made for Easter and everyone loved it. The only change I made was to add a little more peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Only improvements I made to the recipe were to use real whipped cream (1 cup whipping cream plus 3 Tb powdered sugar, whipped until stiff) in place of the Cool Whip, which always imparts an artificial taste, and add 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. With the real cream, this was sublime! I topped with chocolate syrup and quartered peanut butter cups. Easy, but fabulous flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie

This pie is rich and creamy, and so easy to make.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States