Smoky Steak Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
this stuff is awesome, thanks alot, will use again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
We halved the recipe and marinaded two 5-ounce filets for about 2 hours and they were incredibly delicious. It was pretty salty, which I love, but you might want to put 1/2-3/4 the amount of salt in it if you like yours less salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
My husband really liked the flavor of this marinade. I would suggest decreasing the salt a little as it was too salty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mende Ann G., CMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
WOW - absolutely delicious. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I think this recipe calls for wayyyy too much salt. After reading the reviews, I decided to cut out the table salt all together and reduce the seasoned salt to just one tablespoon. Next time I will use fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. All the "powders" made the marinade pretty thick. I like the concept of this marinade, it just didn't work out that well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
We let our frozen chicken breasts sit in this marinade all day and cut them up into strips before baking. Wonderful! Thanks! We will use this marinade often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by gardengrl
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
For me the flavor is too strong to use as a marinade and I only marinated my steak for 45 minutes! Think it would work better as a sauce to baste your meat with while cooking. The flavor is good, 'am trying to think of a way to tone it down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This can be a great marinade if you don't use all the salt or all the powders! I cut the recipe in half for a 1 lb. sirloin steak. I didn't use any table salt and only half of the seasoned salt (basically 1/4 of what the original recipe called for. I used minced garlic and added 2 Tbsp. of olive oil. I let this marinate all day. The result was a very flavorful, tender, smoky cut of steak and sirloin is not the best cut of meat either so I was pleasantly surprised. I would definitely try this again but on strips or rib eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This is pretty good stuff. I did cut back the salt to 1 tsp of seasoned salt and whish I would have added just a bit more. It has a good smokey flavor and went through the meat very well. DH grilled these for us and we enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Nice smoky flavor BUT way too salty. I kinda thought it may be so I had reduced the seasoned salt to 2T and increased the garlic powder (we really like garlic.) It was still just on the edge of being too salty to eat. Will definitely make again but decrease the seasoned salt to 1T, maybe add some of my own seasonings and some chopped garlic cloves. Cooked up really well though. Took a photo but my phone apparently doesn't take a large enough file, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinade for Steak I

See how to make a sensational marinade for steak.

The Best Steak Marinade

See how to make a super-simple, full-flavor marinade for grilled beef.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States